Top Olympians take out top awards

Alpine News - - On The Slopes -

THE Ski and Snow­board Aus­tralia (SSA) awards night were a glit­ter­ing af­fair and Sochi sil­ver medal­lists To­rah Bright and David Mor­ris were jointly named Suzuki Snows­ports Ath­lete of the Year.

Oth­ers in the run­ning for the top award in­cluded Sochi bronze medal­list, Ly­dia Lassila, world cup half-pipe crys­tal globe win­ner Scotty James and win­ner of the Lake Louise snow­board cross world cup event, Jar­ryd Hughes.

Moguls skier Britt Cox was also in the run­ning for the se­nior award af­ter fin­ish­ing fifth at the Sochi games and was named Ju­nior Ath­lete of the Year for a fourth suc­ces­sive time.

Britt Cox shared the Ju­nior Ath­lete of the Year award with her Olympic team­mate, snow­boarder Scotty James who brought home the half­pipe world cup Globe.

In a nod to the ris­ing talent in win­ter sports, all four fi­nal­ists for the Ju­nior Snows­port Ath­lete of the Year, (Cox, James, Hughes and alpine skier Greta Small) com­peted in Sochi, with Cox and James al­ready dual Olympians, hav­ing com­peted in Van­cou­ver in 2010 at the age of 15.

Aeri­al­ist Ly­dia Lassila, who cre­ated his­tory at Sochi by be­com­ing the first woman to at­tempt a quadru­ple twist­ing triple som­er­sault in com­pe­ti­tion, was recog­nised with the Out­stand­ing Achieve­ment Award.

Aeri­al­ist David Mor­ris was present on the night to col­lect his award and was ex­tremely happy to be wel­comed into such a pres­ti­gious alumni.

“It is a priv­i­lege to re­ceive the award that has been won by so many well per­formed ath­letes in the past,” Mor­ris said.

“To­rah is a leg­end of win­ter sports, so to have my name next to hers on the honor board is fan­tas­tic.

“It’s great to re­ceive the recog­ni­tion for do­ing my job and I man­aged to pull it off on the day, win the medal, and now this is an­other of the re­wards.

“There are so many people who con­trib­uted to my suc­cess and this award is also recog­ni­tion for all the work and the con­tri­bu­tion they have made over many years,” Mr Mor­ris said.

Other win­ners on the night in­cluded:

Coach of the Year - Cord Spero (David Mor­ris coach)

Ris­ing Star - Emily Arthur (snow­board)

De­vel­op­ment Coach - Jar­rod Wouters (snow­board)

Snows­ports School of the Year - The Scots Col­lege

Out­stand­ing Achieve­ment of the Year for Small Schools - Manly Vil­lage Pub­lic School


AWARDS: Aus­tralian Sports Com­mis­sion chair­man John Wylie, Jar­ryd Hughes, Brit­teny Cox, Anna Se­gal and David Mor­ris.

GALA FUNC­TION: Aus­tralian Sports Com­mis­sion chair­man John Wylie with Out­stand­ing Achieve­ment of the Year re­cip­i­ent Ly­dia Las­sila.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.