Jane Barter

Alpine Observer - - News -

What is your job?

I work Mon­days and Wed­nes­days as a kinder­garten teacher for Alpine Chil­dren’s Ser­vices at the Ta­wonga Kinder­garten. It is a new ser­vice for ACS, who took it on last De­cem­ber. At the mo­ment I only have two en­rol­ments but I hope I will get more from the be­gin­ning of next year. Be­fore the ACS took over it was run by a mo­bile kinder ser­vice out of Wodonga. Tak­ing on this po­si­tion I hope will make us closer to our com­mu­nity.

Is it some­thing you al­ways wanted to do?

Yes it is. As a lit­tle girl I had a very in­spi­ra­tional kinder teacher called Denise Burt. She was just so car­ing and in­ter­ested in what we were do­ing, and she was such fun. Go­ing to kinder was a real high­light for me.

Have you al­ways been in the Kiewa Val­ley?

I am a lo­cal girl, born and raised in Mt Beauty. I went to lo­cal schools up to year 10 then to board­ing school at Walla Walla which of­fered kids all sorts of op­tions. For in­stance I did horse­mas­ter­ship for two years which was won­der­ful. Af­ter school I went to teach­ers col­lege in Christchurch, New Zealand be­cause there was a renowned nan­ny­ing course there, and I planned to qual­ify as a nanny and then travel. My teacher en­cour­aged me to stay and fin­ish my teach­ing qual­i­fi­ca­tions, so I ended up with a diploma in early child­hood teach­ing. Be­fore I left Aus­tralia I had started a re­la­tion­ship with Dean, who is a Kiewa Val­ley boy. He was with me on and off in New Zealand and when I de­cided to come back to Aus­tralia we worked in Can­berra for a year, then came back to Mt Beauty in 2000. I got a teach­ing job with the City of Wodonga and stayed there for 17 years. In the end I got sick of the trav­el­ling and de­cided to take some time off to re­fresh. I did a ski tech­ni­cian course which qual­i­fied me to work in ski shops, and also worked in lo­cal cafes. At the end of last year the Ta­wonga kinder job came up.

What do you love about your job?

I love see­ing the chil­dren come in at the be­gin­ning of the year and watch­ing them change and grow and de­velop. They be­come so much more ma­ture and ready to take on chal­lenges.

What do you do in your spare time?

In win­ter our fam­ily are avid skiers. It’s an ac­tiv­ity we love do­ing to­gether, we go up to Falls Creek ev­ery week­end and any time we can chance we get dur­ing the week. I also love road bike rid­ing and walk­ing es­pe­cially around this area be­cause of its beauty.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.