Duo claim the Clas­sic

Augusta Margaret River Times - - Sport - Therese Col­man

Ben Spence and Laura Ma­caulay are the new ti­tle­hold­ers of the Mar­garet River Clas­sic af­ter win­ning the open men’s and women’s cat­e­gories at the 37th an­nual com­pe­ti­tion at the week­end.

Mar­garet River’s Surfers Point hosted the event from Satur­day through to Mon­day, with swell av­er­ag­ing a con­testable six to eight feet.

Spence de­feated win­ner of the 35th and 36th Clas­sics Dave Del­royCarr in round 1, heat one.

De­spite a sec­ond plac­ing in the quar­ter­fi­nals against Jed Mat­tin­son and semi­fi­nals against Jasper En­der­sby, Spence fought back to win with a com­bined to­tal of 15.90.

Sec­ond, third and fourth place went to Cy Cox, En­der­sby and Jed Gradisen re­spec­tively.

Spence also won the un­der-21 Pro Ju­nior ti­tle, claim­ing vic­tory with a com­bined 14.87.

Jack Haslau, Cox and Gradisen filled sec­ond, third and fourth plac- es. Grace­town’s Ma­caulay im­pressed the judges, win­ning her quar­ter­fi­nal and semi­fi­nal.

She shone in the open women’s fi­nal, claim­ing vic­tory by 5.5 points with a to­tal of 17.5 to de­feat last year’s cham­pion Mia Mc­Carthy.

Ma­caulay’s vic­tory was fol­lowed by Coral Du­rant (sec­ond), Mia Mc­Carthy (third) and Claire Bevilac­qua (fourth).

The lo­cals-only cat­e­gory was won by An­drew Sheri­dan, who also came third in last year’s and this year’s over-40s men’s fi­nal. Ro­han An­nes­ley was sec­ond, Dino Adrian third and Sam Kin­ney fourth. RE­SULTS Open Men: First Ben Spence; Sec­ond Cy Cox; Third Jasper En­der­sby; Fourth Jed Gradisen. Open Women: First Laura Ma­caulay; Sec­ond Coral Du­rant; Third Mia Mc­Carthy; Fourth Claire Bevilac­qua. Un­der-21 Pro Ju­nior: First Ben Spence; Sec­ond Jack Haslau; Third Cy Cox; Fourth Jed Gradisen. Over 50 Men: First Mark Clift; Sec­ond Brad Cowan; Third Chris Twomey; Fourth Adrian Shep­herd. Over 40 Men: First Sam Cas­tle­den; Sec­ond Dave Ma­caulay; Third An­drew Sheri­dan; Fourth Paul Pater­son. Lo­cals Only: First An­drew Sheri­dan; Sec­ond Ro­han An­nes­ley; Third Dino Adrian; Fourth Sam Kin­ney.

Open men’s Cy Cox, sec­ond place, Jed Gradisen, fourth, Ben Spence, first, and Jasper En­der­sby, third.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.