New Pres­i­dent, new Board for TPAA

Australasian Timber - - ASSOCIATIONS - By Doug How­ick, Editor, TPAA “CON­TACT” News­let­ter

A NEW ex­ec­u­tive team to lead our as­so­ci­a­tion’s ac­tiv­i­ties in the forth­com­ing year was ap­proved and in­stalled dur­ing the 2016 An­nual Gen­eral Meet­ing late in Oc­to­ber. In­com­ing Pres­i­dent Gerry Gar­diner tells your Editor that he is pleased to have ac­cepted the po­si­tion of Pres­i­dent of TPAA. In stress­ing that he will be ably sup­ported on the 2015/2016 TPAA Coun­cil by Kerry Bloor, of Lum­ber One(NZ) and Jack Nor­ton as TPAA Na­tional Sec­re­tary, he ex­plained that he would not have felt con­fi­dent in tak­ing on this com­mit­ment with­out their sup­port.

They will op­er­ate as an ex­ec­u­tive team and look for­ward to grow­ing the num­ber of ac­tive mem­bers so that TPAA can be truly rep­re­sen­ta­tive of all of the treat­ment in­dus­try. Gerry agrees that a lot has been achieved by our Past Pres­i­dent, Gar­rie James, for which we must thank him and that Jack “has been tire­less” in his ef­forts to mod­ernise TPAA, par­tic­u­larly with the work he has un­der­taken on the new TPAA web­site.

Mr Gar­diner has a long in­volve­ment with the Aus­tralian tim­ber in­dus­try, hav­ing op­er­ated his own busi­ness as a tim­ber Im­porter for some thirty years and more re­cently as a busi­ness owner of itreat Tim­ber, in Bris­bane. Fur­ther­more, he has held nu­mer­ous roles within the in­dus­try on bod­ies such as the Queens­land Tim­ber Im­porters and the Aus­tralian Tim­ber Im­porters As­so­ci­a­tions and he cur­rently rep­re­sents the ATIA on the AS 1604 Stan­dards Com­mit­tee (TM-012). Gerry Gar­diner, (Pres­i­dent) - itreat Tim­ber Andrew Forster – South­east Pine An­gelo Hras­tov - Lonza Elias Akle - Kop­pers Gar­rie James – Out­door Tim­ber Harry Greaves – Harry Greaves Con­sult­ing Ian Clarke – TimTech Chem­i­cals Kerry Bloor – Tim­balink NZ Lew Fisher – Fish­ers LOSP Pat Shel­ton – Shel­ton Tim­ber Peter Webb - IVS War­ren Banks – Kop-Coat NZ Wayne Lewis - Kop­pers 2015/2016 Tech­ni­cal Com­mit­tee: Harry Greaves (Chair­man), Ron­ald Claw­son, Lau­rie Cook­son, Stephen Crimp, Richard For­rester, Mark For­tune, James Hague, Greg Jensen, Jack Nor­ton, Rick White, Kerry Bloor, Noel Cox­head, Tim Evans.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.