Benalla Ensign



Benalla Golf Club

Today Wednesday, April 27 is a stableford event and on Saturday, April 30 is also a stableford event.

RESULTS: April 20

On Wednesday, April 20, 74 players competed in the Brian Firth Memorial, a four-person Ambrose event.

The winners on the day, with 56 and 1/8 nett, was the team of Wayne Hocking, Bryce Cooney, Stephen Batman and Lincoln Campbell.

The runners-up with 58 and

1/4 nett were Andrew Hodson, Gavan Crothers, Phil Donges and Kerry Bramich. The third-placed team with 58 and 1/2 nett, were Brian Hubble, Graham Briggs, Jim Edmund and Trev Willmott.


3rd: Ross Allan.

8th: Andrew Hodson.

13th: Mark Henwood.

Ball competitio­n: 59 and 5/8 Chris Keast, Mark Folletta, Henry Dobson and Brian Hollins, 59 and 2/3 Ron Schulz, Hamish Pearce and Ian Simmons, 60 and 3/8 Trevor Squires, Phil Squires, Graeme Squires and Brian Rosenbrock, 60 and 1/2 Ken Levy, Mark Henwood, Blair Ferguson and Terry Symes, 60 and 1/2 Bill Booker, Geoff McKinnar, Nigel Bowen and

Dave Senior.

RESULTS: April 23

Last Saturday, April 23, saw 79 players compete in a stableford event.

The best score of the day, 40 points, was had by Kerry Bramich to win B-grade, with Michael O’Brien, 36 points, B-grade runner-up. Tim Fraser, 39 points won A-grade with Steve Thomas, 37 points, the runner-up. In C-grade Jim Edmond, 36 points, was the winner and Duncan McKenzie, 34 points, the runner-up. Nearest-the-pins:

1st Olive’s Mensland: Mark Foletta.

3rd Crothers’ Joinery: Ross Allan.

8th Srixon/Golf Shop:

Chris Dube.

9th Cellarbrat­ions Benalla: Nil. 12th Ray White Benalla:

Tony Mort.

13th Benalla Furniture Removals: Duncan McKenzie. KFC Birdies: Russell Marshall. Ball competitio­n: 36 Chris Dube, Karl Browne, Paul Hazell, 35 Dave Dunster, Wayne Mackwell, Chris Plum, 34 Ken Muir, Bruce Reid, Dave Taylor, 33 Wayne Muller, Mick Liddington, Graham Squires, John Robinson, Matt Thomas.

Women’s golf

On Thursday, April 21, 28 players participat­ed in a stableford event generously sponsored by Val Nicholas.

Division one winner was Marsha Watson with 36 points, division two was won by Di Lewis with 30 points and the winner of division three was Anne Brown with 34 points.

Ball competitio­n: J. O’Brien 35, S. Oakley 31, H. Briggs 29, J. Rubira 27, C. Ogden 27, B. Lang 26, G. Morton 26.

NTP: 3rd S. Oakley, Ray White 12th S. Sykes, 14th D. Lewis. A stableford was played on Saturday April 23 with 24 players.

Marsha Watson won division one with 40 points and Janet Symes won division two with 42 points. Ball competitio­n: M. Brown 36, L. Mason 36, J. Baker 33, R. Foletta 33, H. Briggs 33, C. Ogden 33.

NTP: 3rd B. Carroll, MilnerWats­on Pharmacy 8th M. Badrock, 12th B. Carroll, Golf Shop 13th J. O’Brien, 14th J. Symes.

This week a stableford will be played on both Thursday and Saturday.

 ?? ?? Winning in style: Benalla Bridge Club president Peter Radford presenting the club’s Anzac Day trophy to Christine and Peter Holmes.
Winning in style: Benalla Bridge Club president Peter Radford presenting the club’s Anzac Day trophy to Christine and Peter Holmes.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia