Awards keep An­zac spirit alive

Campaspe News - - NEWS -

NOM­I­NA­TIONS have opened for the 2019 An­zac of the Year Awards.

The awards hon­our those who serve in peace and also per­pet­u­ate the mem­ory and gal­lantry of those who served in war.

Mem­ber for Mur­ray Plains Peter Walsh en­cour­aged res­i­dents in the elec­torate to give se­ri­ous con­sid­er­a­tion to nom­i­nat­ing a de­serv­ing per­son for the awards.

“The Re­turned and Ser­vices League of Aus­tralia has es­tab­lished a se­ries of na­tional honours and they in­clude the An­zac Peace Prize and the An­zac of the Year Award,” Mr Walsh said.

“The An­zac Peace Prize is awarded an­nu­ally to an Aus­tralian in­di­vid­ual or group for out­stand­ing ef­forts in pro- mot­ing international un­der­stand­ing and peace.

“There are also seven An­zac of the Year Awards, which will go to Aus­tralian in­di­vid­u­als or groups for ser­vice to the com­mu­nity in a pos­i­tive, com­pas­sion­ate and self­less man­ner and who have demon­strated the hu­man qual­i­ties of dogged­ness, tenac­ity, en­durance and con­stancy to an ex­cep­tional de­gree.’’

Mr Walsh said the awards are for any de­serv­ing per­son in the com­mu­nity – ex-ser­vice or not.

Nom­i­na­tion packs are avail­able by hard copy or email by call­ing 9655 5555 or on­line from the RSL Vic­to­ria web­site

Nom­i­na­tions close at 4pm on Fe­bru­ary 1, 2019.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.