Classics World


- 1955 Mille Miglia 1957 German Grand Prix 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans 1968 German Grand Prix 1969 Italian Grand Prix 1987 British Grand Prix 1992 BTCC Silverston­e 1995 Rally GB 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans

Ahead of the 2023 edition of Autosport Internatio­nal, Europe's largest motorsport exhibition, motorsport fans were asked to share their greatest motorsport memories. An expert panel including three-time Formula 1 world champion Sir Jackie Stewart OBE debated a wide range of memories and agreed on a shortlist that includes iconic moments from the world of Formula 1, the World Rally Championsh­ip, the British Touring Car Championsh­ip and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Fans then cast their votes online for these top ten memories. They will now be able to see the ten chosen moments displayed as prints in a gallery at Autosport Internatio­nal, held at Birmingham’s National Exhibition Centre (NEC) on 12th-15th January 2023. The prints, supplied by Motorsport Images, will be prizes in a raffle to raise funds and awareness for Race Against Dementia.

Sir Jackie Stewart OBE will personally sign the top ten memories and officially open the display before taking to the main stage at the show to talk about his personal involvemen­t with Race Against Dementia, and sharing memories from his illustriou­s motorsport career.

The top ten Motorsport Memories were:

– Sir Stirling Moss wins the Italian classic with an average speed of 99mph.

– Juan Manuel Fangio triumphs at the Nürburgrin­g despite having a slow pit stop and falling 40 seconds behind the leaders.

– Ford ends Ferrari’s winning streak at Le Mans with the iconic Ford GT40.

– Sir Jackie Stewart wins by more than 4 minutes in wet, foggy conditions despite nursing his right wrist in a plastic support due to a broken scaphoid.

– Sir Jackie Stewart beats Jochen Rindt, Jean-Pierre Beltoise and Bruce McLaren in a four-way fight for the win and takes his first world title.

– Nigel Mansell beats Nelson Piquet with a stunning overtake at Stowe corner at Silverston­e, despite tyre problems in the early stages of the race.

– Tim Harvey wins the title whilst Steve Soper and John Cleland famously collide.

– Colin McRae wins Rally GB for the second consecutiv­e time and takes his first WRC title over teammate Carlos Sainz.

– Lewis Hamilton passes Timo Glock on the final corner of the final lap in a wet/dry race to win his first world title by a single point.

– Toyota loses the lead on the last lap and with it the chance to win Le Mans for the first time since its return.



Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia