State’s AHL squads an­nounced

Cockburn Gazette - - SPORT -

PREPA­RA­TION for this year’s Aus­tralian Hockey League (AHL) in Perth will be­gin in earnest with both the Thun­der­sticks and Di­a­monds an­nounc­ing their squads on the week­end.

Con­tested by teams rep­re­sent­ing all states and ter­ri­to­ries and fea­tur­ing ath­letes from the na­tional teams, the AHL tour­na­ment is Aus­tralia’s premier hockey com­pe­ti­tion.

This year, both WA squads have a num­ber of new faces in line for se­lec­tion with a heavy fo­cus on in­vest­ing in the fu­ture.

Eigh­teen po­ten­tials have been named in the two squads.

Thun­der­sticks head coach Ja­son Butcher said there was ma­jor in­ter­est from clubs and play­ers through­out the state.

“We have had nearly 60 ath­letes in­volved in the pro­gram this year, with op­por­tu­ni­ties pro­vided against Liaon­ing Prov­ince, Malaysia and the re­cent se­ries against Great Bri­tain,” he said.

Thun­der­sticks Squad: Matthew Bird (Fre­man­tle), Chris Bau­sor (UWA), Graeme Beg­bie (YMCC), Si­mon Benetti (Wolves), Kiel Brown (WASPS), Nick Bud­geon (Wolves), Ian Burcher (Vic Park), Matthew Fisher (UWA), Liam Flynn (Hale), Tim Geers (Melville), Frazer Ger­rard (UWA), Coby Green (OAHC), Jake Harvie (Wolves), Dom Hird (Vic Park), Fer­gus Ka­vanagh (Hale), Matthew Lim (YMCC), Tyler Lovell (YMCC), Frank Main (UWA), Trent Mit­ton (WASPS), Alis­tair Park (Wolves), Alec Ras­mussen (Hale), Daniel Rayney (WASPS), James Richard­son (OGMHC), Cale Walsh (WASPS) Tom Wick­ham (UWA), Aran Zalewski (OAHC) WA Di­a­monds Squad: Roos Broek (Melville), Jemma Buck­ley (Wolves), Brooke Capewell (WASPS), Aimee Clark (Melville), Jac­qui Day (NCR), Natasha Del Bor­rello (NCR), Kate Den­ning (CTP), Erin Flynn (WASPS), Kyra Flynn (WASPS), Rachel Frusher (Vic Park), An­nie Gibbs (CTP), Takara Haines (UWA), Bree John­son (OAHC), Melissa Luff (WASPS), Philippa Mor­gan (UWA), Matilda Nel­son (UWA), Caitlin Pas­cov (UWA), Candyce Pea­cock (Wolves), Aleisha Power (CTP), Kathryn Slat­tery (WASPS), Karri Somerville (Vic Park), Penny Squibb (CTP), Ash­lee Wells (NCR), Holly White (UWA), Ge­or­gia Wil­son (Vic Park)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.