Lynn Medal for Schofield

Cockburn Gazette - - SPORT -

JAY­DEN Schofield held off Matthew Wat­son to claim his first Lynn Medal as East Fre­man­tle’s best and fairest player on Satur­day night.

Schofield, who in Septem­ber was named in the WAFL Team of the Year af­ter a sea­son where he av­er­aged 26 dis­pos­als per game, earned 76 votes, with Wat­son gar­ner­ing 71.

In third was pow­er­ful mid­fielder Jonathon Marsh (57 votes).

Re­turn­ing to the Sharks af­ter three sea­sons with Colling­wood in the AFL, Marsh av­er­aged 28 dis­pos­als and had the sec­ond most clear­ances for the Sharks.

Marsh was also the sole Shark se­lected for the WA State Team SUP­PORTED BY LUX MO­TORS which made his­tory in May by be­com­ing the first ever West Aus­tralian se­nior team to beat Vic­to­ria in Mel­bourne.

Matthew Jupp and Cameron Eard­ley shared fourth place with 46 votes. Corey Holmes was named Best First Year Player, while Tom Ben­nett was awarded the Ris­ing Star. Tim Bris­tow claimed both the Best Club­man and EFFC Com­mu­nity Awards.

Lynn Medal Top Ten: Jay­den Schofield (76 votes), Matthew Wat­son (71), Jonathon Marsh (57), Matthew Jupp and Cameron Eard­ley (46), Ge­orge Hamp­son (35), An­drew Stephen (32), Tom Mar­shall (31), Sam Read (30), Dion An­thony (30).

Pic­ture by Phil El­liott/ Pix­ell Pho­tog­ra­phy

Lynn medal­list Jay­den Schofield.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.