Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Rovers junior football reports:


The Deniliquin Rovers thirds’ match against Mathoura was a much anticipate­d game.

The two rivals did not disappoint with a great game played by both sides, but with Rovers taking home the four points and taking them to the top of the ladder.

Final Score: Rovers 11.15 (81) to Mathoura 7.1 (43).

Best players: Haydn Mowat, Brock Redden, Ray Murphy, Tom Banks, Jai Ezard, Connor Didcock.

Goal kickers: Ray Murphy 3, Tom Banks 2, Brodie Elphick 1, Alvin Cooper 1, Tyson Willis 1, Joshua Wawrzycki 1, Haydn Mowat 1 and Dom Read 1.

Awards: BLT Fabricatio­n $40 – Haydn Mowat; Barber & Threadz $20 – Brock Redden; Sushi Bite $10 – Ray Murphy; Josh’s Bakehouse $10 – Tom Banks; Scoop n Brew $10 – Jai Ezard; Central IGA $10 – Connor Didcock.


The Deniliquin Rovers fourths played Mathoura in round 15 at

Mathoura on Saturday, where Austin Armytage, Jordan Stafford, Jerrah Caruso and Alex Harvey celebrated 50 games and were each presented a football by coach Peter Wills and their parents.

Jerrah Caruso played her best game for the year and kicked three goals in the last quarter to take her to 52 junior goals.

Jerrah has worked hard this year getting in and getting the ball moving down the ground.

Austin kicked six goals. He has a huge kick and can kick goals from various angles and distances.

Jordan also had a cracker of a game in the forward line kicking five goals for the game and showing his skills around the goals.

Alex added to his goal kicking tally with another five goals, taking him to 31 goals for the season.

Baxter Cowley and Jack Hussey were also in the best players this round, with Jack having his third game for the year.

A huge thank you to the Deni kids that played for Mathoura. It was appreciate­d by both clubs and all kids got to have a game, which it is all about – great sportsmans­hip.

Big thank you to Judith Harvey who takes photos for the fourths each week.

Final score: Rovers 30.23 (203) to Mathoura 0.

Best players: Jerrah Caruso, Austin Armytage, Baxter Cowley, Jordan Stafford, Jack Hussey and Alex Harvey.

Goal kickers: Austin Armytage 6, Jordan Stafford 5, Alex Harvey 5, Baxter Cowley 4, Connor Wilson 3, Jerrah Caruso 3, Isaac Behsman 2, Shaleah Cooper 1, Jack Van Lieshout 1.

Awards: Buck Award – Jerrah Caruso; Design & Build – Jack Hussey; Cruizin Diner – Austin Armytage; McDonald’s – Connor Wilson, Alex Harvey and Dexter Hardman; Subway – Max Watson, Jordan Stafford and Baxter Cowley.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia