Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Virtual Business Awards tonight


Who will be Deniliquin and district’s business of the year?

The coveted title will be awarded tonight, as part of the Deniliquin Business Chamber’s virtual Business Excellence Awards.

Council was planning to host a physical gala awards night, up until the decision to extend NSW lockdown until at least September 10.

Awards organiser Susie Wallace said the only upside to a virtual format is that more people can be involved in tonight’s event.

‘‘We are disappoint­ed not to be having everyone in the same room to celebrate, but a virtual format does mean everyone can celebrate the finalists.

‘‘People can watch from the comfort of their own home.

‘‘Even if we could hold an event, we would have been limited to 110 at the Deniliquin RSL Club.’’

Tonight’s virtual presentati­on ceremony will begin at 6.30pm.

Thirteen awards categories will be presented as part of the event:

● Outstandin­g Trainee or Apprentice: Alyssa Townsend - CareSouth; Ben Blenkiron - Deniliquin Automotive Electrical.

● Outstandin­g Employee: Latitia Oliver Total Bliss Massage & Beauty; Shannon Spalding - Soul Pattinson Chemist; Elle Parsons - Deniliquin Travel Centre; Luke Moffitt - Deni Car Care; Aileen Hayes Homes Out West; Terri Bootsman - Evolve Fitness + Wellbeing; Felicity Gallagher Josh’s Bakehouse; Jessie Jennings - Josh’s Bakehouse; Kacey Dighton - Purtill Group; Olivia Brown - Deniliquin Health Service.

● Outstandin­g Young Business Leader: Jordan Purtill - Deni Clothing Co; Adam Connally - Harry Pepper Coffee; Kearea

Thommers - Red Rose Diner; Stacey Crampton - Pure Serenity Massage and Beauty.

● Outstandin­g Business Leader: Iain Goodway - Deni Golf Resort; Katrina Knuckey - Deniliquin Mitre 10; Sivonne Binks - Sivonne Creative.

● Excellence in Sustainabi­lity: SunRice Deniliquin; Gallpen Dairy.

● Excellence in Work, Health & Safety: Purtill Group; Josh’s Bakehouse.

● Excellence in Business: Purtill Group.

● Excellence in Small Business: Riverina Funeral Services; Deni Play on the Plains Festival Ltd; Evolve Fitness + Wellbeing; Wired Entertainm­ent; Josh’s Bakehouse.

● Excellence in Micro Business: Bennetts Painting & Decorating; Body Harmony; Deniliquin Travel Centre; WishyWorld Embroidery; Red Rose Diner.

● Outstandin­g Community Organisati­on: CareSouth; Deniliquin Visitor Informatio­n

Centre & Peppin Heritage Centre; Naponda Store; Yarkuwa Indigenous Knowledge Centre Aboriginal Corporatio­n; Deniliquin Boat Club; Vinnies Services Deniliquin; Intereach Limited; Deniliquin Local Health Advisory Committee; Country Education Foundation of Edward River.

● Outstandin­g New Business: Clear Lifestyle Support; Leaves and Vines Nursery; The Laughter Lady; Sambo’s Electrical; Ellie’s Emporium; Harry Pepper Coffee; Cruizin* Diner; Olivia’s Lash Cave.

● Excellence in Customer Service (Individual Category): Andrew Nicholls Navorina; Cheryl Dixon - Coles; Danny Mulcahy - Edward River Library; David Glenn - Deniliquin Yamaha; David Leech Concept Computer Systems; Dianne Gardiner - Deniliquin Hospital; Donna Jefferies - Party Pack & Wrap; Geraldine Thommers - Red Rose Diner; Jacinta Goodear - Riverside Pest Management; Kacey Dighton - The Depot; Kasey Collett - Leaves and Vines Nursery; Kylie Green - Deniliquin Children’s Centre; Mel Wilson - Deniliquin Children’s Centre; Michael Howe - Riverina Watermatic; Paul Lehman - Dyson Group; Rhonda Nevison - Mitre 10; Terri-Lee Dashwood - North Junction Service Centre; Tiarna Taylor - Deniliquin McDonald’s.

● Excellence in Customer Service (Business Category): All Clean Deniliquin; Deniliquin BIG4 Holiday Park; Deniliquin Eyecare; Deniliquin Showcase Jewellers; Deniliquin Travel Centre; Deni Tyre Service; Elders Rural Deniliquin; Eric Sim Pharmacy; Josh’s Bakehouse; Just Jeans; Navorina; Owen Edwards Plumbing; Red Rose Diner; Scoop n Brew; St George Bank Deniliquin; The Exchange Hotel; The Depot Deniliquin; The Reject Shop; The Warehouse Deniliquin.

All businesses nominated are also eligible for the prestigiou­s Business of the Year award.

The PASTORAL TIMES has been major sponsor of the Business Awards for more than 15 years.

To watch tonight’s presentati­ons, go to­sschamber or deniliquin­

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia