Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Lockdown lifted just in time


Lifting the COVID lockdown and easing restrictio­ns came just in time for the Spring Classic at the weekend.

As a result the event was the usual fourball best ball, and players welcomed the opportunit­y for COVID-safe gatherings after play.

All golfers should note that as per NSW Health regulation­s, playing in groups of four is now permitted provided everyone is double vaccinated.

The 36 hole men’s winners of the classic, sponsored by SunRice and Harvey Norman, were John Penna and Ken Wemyss with 88 points, on countback to Graeme Willoughby and John Wacheke. Unfortunat­ely the potential winners missed out on their prize due to a scorecard discrepanc­y, which is a timely reminder to always check that your card is correct and signed.

The ladies 36 hole winners were Carol Hardman and Kathy Simpson with 91 points, from Kerran Leetham and Jayne Barlow 89.

Scratch winners in the men’s were Matt Thomas and Jarryd Pearce 74, and in the ladies Jenny Swainger and Vicki Brunker 63.

Saturday’s men’s winners were Don Bull and Rob Sobolewski with 51 points, which was the best score of the weekend, from Nick Metcalfe and Gary Brant 49. Saturday’s ladies winners were Jane Glowrey and Libby Henderson 48 from runnersup Ann Bull and Cheryl Fuller 45.

On Sunday the men’s winners were Scott Atley and Brodie McQuie 47 points from Andrew Hall and Albert Liebenberg 45, and in the ladies it was Annette Danckert and Leonie Chadderton 44 points, from runnersup Jennifer Choice and Grace Tiri 44.

It was a great weekend for the club and a welcome return to at least a resemblanc­e of ‘normalcy’.

In other events in the past week, last Thursday the ladies played stableford, won in A grade by Vicki Brunker on 36 points from Jennifer Choice 35, and in B grade Leonie Chadderton had a whopping 45 points, from runner-up Pat Aitken 37.

A good field gathered in delightful spring weather on Wednesday for the men’s stableford event. A grade winner was Gary Stephens 37 points on countback to Leigh Chappell; B grade Ken Wemyss continued his good weekend form with 38 points from runner-up Peter Beckton 36, and in C grade James Rhook had 35 to win on countback to Stephen Townsend.

In other news, we are delighted to announce that Friday’s activities resume today. Bingo will be played this morning, then the Friday Fun returns with raffles and meals tonight. Raffle tickets are on sale from 6pm with draws from 7.30. Be aware that the club has strict COVID-safe regulation­s in place which must be followed, including wearing masks when required, social distancing with number limits, QR sign-in and hand sanitising. Please ensure you abide by all the regulation­s to keep everyone safe and keep the club operating.

As previously advised, golf can be played in groups of four, provided all players are double vaccinated. This is a government directive. Anyone who has been to Albury (back in lockdown) since September 10 and is not double vaccinated is not permitted to play golf in Deniliquin at this stage. Also, be aware that the COVID restrictio­ns can change suddenly.

One popular event that continues to suffer from COVID regulation­s is the blind footy tipping. The final draw will be conducted from 5pm tomorrow, but due to restrictio­ns the numbers are limited and there will be no meal or compliment­ary drinks. However, the prize pool will be paid out and the balance carried over to 2022, when entrants will have a reduced fee. Results, excluding the top 20, are on the club’s website. Anyone who wants to attend tomorrow night must register with Norm on 0417 831 466.

Finally, the new driving range is proving extremely popular. It’s as simple as swiping a credit card or getting a token to get your golf balls, then smacking the balls down the fairway and leaving someone else to pick them up. This facility is available for members and non-members.

Last week’s results:

Thursday September 9, ladies single stableford:

A grade V Brunker 36, r/u J Choice 35; B grade L Chadderton 45, r/u P Aitken 37.

Ball comp: B Purtill, P Chalmers, M Marshall, T Chandler, A Gorsuch, K Simpson,

A Danckert, G Tiri, J Barlow, S Simpson, W Pearce, F Harrington, Y Holmes, V Barnes, M Radeski, c/o 31.

NTP: 5th D Seignior; 9th J Barlow; 11th K Leetham. Golden hole K Druitt. Spring Classic:

36 holes: Men J Penna and K Wemyss 88, c/b G Willoughby and J Wacheke. Ladies C Hardman and K Simpson 91, r/u K Leetham and J Barlow. Scratch: Men Matt Thomas and J Pearce 74; ladies J Swainger and V Brunker 63.


Men: D Bull and R Sobolewski 51, r/u N Metcalfe and G Brant 49.

Ball comp: J Loy, J Kerr, P O’Brien, D Ramsey, G Willoughby, J Wacheke, A Lord, G Maddison, G Collins, T Maw, S Mills, C McDonald, K Wemyss, J Penna, G Willis, Mark Thomas, J Campbell, J Treble, J Pearce, Matt Thomas, G Bulmer, M Harvey.

Ladies: J Glowrey and L Henderson 48, r/u A Bull and C Fuller 45.

Ball comp: B Purtill, F Harrington, K Leetham, J Barlow, A Ferguson, J Hood, L Bond, L Liebenberg.

NTP: 2nd R Pogonoski,, K Reeves; 5th A Brunker, R Sobolewski; 9th Mark Thomas, S Simpson; 11th J Swainger, N Metcalfe; 13th A Brunker, W Bull.


Men: S Atley and B McQuie 47, r/u Andrew Hall and A Liebenberg 45.

Ball comp: K Wemyss, J Penna, Andrew Hall, A Liebenberg, G Willoughby, J Wacheke, D Alexander, J Irwin, R Burnham, I Fuller, G Davies, C Liefting, J Radeski, N Purtill, R Pogonoski, S Faulkner, J Hunt, S Tilders, R Cowcher, P Seely.

Ladies: A Danckert and L Chadderton 44, c/b J Choice and G Tiri.

Ball comp: K Leetham, J Barlow, J Choice, G Tiri, E Bolton, G Campbell, P Sherwin, S Hancock, K Druitt, K Sandford.

NTP: 2nd W Pitts, C Fuller; 5th T Bult, J Irwin; 9th P Oddy, J Armytage; 11th J Pearce, S Atley; 13th J Dedman, F Harrington.

Tuesday September 14, ladies 9 holes stroke:

Winner P Sherwin 32, r/u P Jarratt 33.5, 3rd P Davis 36.

Ball comp: J Hussey, P Aitken, W Liefting, G Campbell, R Lawrence, P Grant, K Cathcart, G Tiri, B Leetham c/o 41

Putting: R Lawrence 13. NTP: P Davis, P Sherwin.

Wednesday September 15, men’s stableford:

A grade: G Stephens 37, c/b L Chappell; B grade K Wemyss 38, r/u P Beckton 36; C grade J Rhook 35, c/b S Townsend.

Ball comp: J Radeski, G Bessell, J Penna, B Barlow, C Mitsch, N Swainger, G Willoughby, J Wacheke, T Grant, D Wade, G Bracken, R Lawrence, J Irwin, P Gatacre, A Lord, R Landy, P Hodgkinson, Matt Thomas, c/o 32.

NTP: T Grant, A Lord. Golden hole C Mitsch.

More Spring Classic presentati­on photos online at

 ??  ?? ■ Spring Classic 36 hole men’s winners Ken Wemyss and John Penna.
■ Spring Classic 36 hole men’s winners Ken Wemyss and John Penna.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia