Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Juniors on court tomorrow

- ~ Zoe McMaugh

Junior tennis will get started in Deniliquin from tomorrow, but in a more restricted format than initially planned.

With COVID-19 rules allowing only 20 players on the courts at any one time, Deniliquin Junior Tennis Club president Jon Gatacre said the Hot Shots skills program would be on pause for the time being.

Numbers within the section one competitio­n — which is a formal competitio­n ending with finals — will allow for the match play competitio­n to start this weekend.

‘‘We just want to get some tennis, any sport going,’’ Gatacre said.

‘‘There are only players in section one, so that fits within the guidelines of capacity.

‘‘In the meantime, we’re trying to get more informatio­n on when we can get the Hot Shots program going.

‘‘These groups are bigger, so it was just not possible to start with them.’’

Section one players are asked to be at the Charlotte St courts at Deniliquin by 8.30am tomorrow, for a 9am start.

Teams are as follows:

CWS – Austin Armytage, Fletcher Campion, Lizzie Muldoon, Bella Knox and William Frost. Team manager Edwina Knox.

Dare Doubles –Fred Peat, James Gatacre, Jack McGrillen, Milly Hanmer and Hollie Armytage. Team manager Victoria Gatacre.

JC Earthworks – Henry Robinson, Arabella Bliss, Angus Rae, Emma Wettenhall and Olivia Armytage. Team manager Rob Wettenhall.

Murray Constructi­ons – Tom Murray, Toby Rae, Liam Knuckey, Lucy Crossley and Bella Muldoon. Team manager Peter Rae.

Reserve players – Jake Harvey, Tom Marshall, Alice Peat and Ollie Murray.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia