Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Club Champions on a roll


Matt Thomas and Vicki Brunker have both claimed their fourth consecutiv­e Deniliquin Golf Club Championsh­ip titles.

Thomas had a record-breaking three round total of 209, being an impressive seven under par with a final round of 69. He claimed the title by 12 shots over runner-up Vince Kelly.

Brunker likewise had a sizeable winning margin, taking the ladies championsh­ip by 20 shots over runner-up Pauline Davis.

In men’s B grade Daryl Nalder had a solid final round of 85 (three round total 257) to retain his lead and win by six shots to runner-up Neil Boswell.

C grade saw Norm Purtill fire an excellent final round 87 (three round total 275), lifting him from fourth place to first by four shots over Gary Stephens who had a final round 95.

D grade winner by a massive 25 shots was Keanu Sutton (three round total 287) from runner-up Peter O’Brien.

The top eight in each grade have qualified for the match-play knockout. The draw will be in the pro shop this week and players are asked to check the sheet and organise their match.

The ladies B grade champion was Sarah Aitken with a three round total 287 by five shots to runner-up Marg Radeski, and in C grade Pauline Sherwin (325) won by six shots to runner-up Trish Chandler.

In Saturday’s stroke event the A grade winner was Lyn O’Brien net 70 by a shot to Chris Thomson, in B grade Col Thompson had net 69 to win by a shot to Norm Purtill, and in C grade Sue Butcher had net 74 from runner-up Grace Tiri 77.

Last Thursday the ladies had their monthly medal, won by Jane Glowrey who also won B grade on countback to Sarah Aitken. A grade winner was Marg Radeski net 71 from Vicki Brunker net 72.

Due to the early pre-Easter deadline there are no results available from Wednesday.

Coming up we can expect plenty of social golfers on the course over Easter.

A single stableford event will be played on Saturday, ladies 9 holes stableford on Tuesday, men’s stableford on Wednesday and ladies stableford next Thursday.

The following weekend will also be busy

on the golf course with the popular Borella Cup on Saturday and the Diggers Charity Golf Day on Sunday April 24. This is a four-person ambrose event with 11.30am assembly for 12 noon shotgun start. It’s $25 per player and there will be a barbecue and drinks cart. Proceeds will support the study of military history in our schools.

Also, mark Monday June 13 in your calendar as this will be the annual Big Freeze MND Charity Day. More details as we get closer to the event.

There will be no raffles or meals tomorrow (Friday) night or bingo tomorrow, but they will both resume next week.

Last week’s results:

Thursday April 7, ladies monthly medal:

A grade M Radeski 71, r/u V Brunker 72;

B grade J Glowrey 69, c/b S Aitken.

Ball comp: P Grant, A Ferguson, P Lloyd, D Hunter, K Simpson, J Swainger, C Maher, T Chandler, J Hussey, J Choice.

NTP: 5th L Henderson; 9th G Campbell; 11th J Swainger. Golden hole M Rothwell; putting P Grant.

Saturday April 9, single stroke:

A grade L O’Brien 70, r/u C Thomson 71;

B grade C Thompson 69, r/u N Purtill 70; C grade S Butcher 74, r/u G Tiri 77.

Ball comp: M Radeski, R Taylor, Matt Thomas, N Boswell, D McQuie, A Ferguson, J Sommerfeld, B Bourke, J Choice, V Kelly, H Sutton, D Ring, I Fuller, S Callanan, J Radeski, D Nalder, K Leetham, T Grant, G Davies, J Irwin, Z Pearce, G Brant, A Jenkin.

NTP: 2nd V Kelly; 5th B Bourke, P Sherwin; 9th V Kelly, A Gorsuch; 11th V Kelly, S Aitken; 13th J Radeski, K Sutton. Golden hole B Bourke.

 ?? ?? (From left) Men’s champions Matt Thomas (open), Daryl Nalder (B grade) and Norm Purtill (C grade). Photo courtesy Deniliquin Golf Club.
(From left) Men’s champions Matt Thomas (open), Daryl Nalder (B grade) and Norm Purtill (C grade). Photo courtesy Deniliquin Golf Club.
 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia