Na­tional tro­phies for Nic and Ser­ena

Dubbo Photo News - - Dubbo Photo News - By GEOFF MANN

DUBBO Touch play­ers Nic Grose and Ser­ena Prout handed in out­stand­ing per­for­mances to guide the Hor­nets to a thrilling win in the Masters last week­end.

Nic was named Most Valu­able Player in the 35s fi­nal against Bris­bane City Co­bras and Ser­ena scored a game-break­ing try.

Alis­tair Thomp­son and Kyle Mey­ers, in the Men’s 30s, went down in the semis af­ter im­press­ing through­out, while Timmy Boney-stew­art’s Mixed Opens suf­fered sim­i­lar heart­break.

In the Women’s 27s, Krys­tal Laughton, Sh­eryn Baird, Dee Smith and Bec Smyth fin­ished 5th, just miss­ing a spot in the top four.

Dubbo Touch Life Mem­ber Krys­tal Laughton was bril­liant through­out the se­ries and was named player of the tour­na­ment for her team while pres­i­dent Neil Web­ster and his 50s team also fin-ished fifth.

Neil was proud of the ef­forts of ev­ery­one who made the long trip to Port Mac­quarie for the car­ni­val.

“Ser­ena and Nic were great and all our play­ers high­lighted the strength of DTA across all ages. I would par­tic­u­larly like to men­tion our tal­ented ref­er­ees. Paul Keyte, Jono Powyer and Rob Mck­ech­nie all achieved their se­nior level 6 badges whilst away at the tour­na­ment – a fit­ting re­sult for their ded­i­ca­tion and high level skills,” Neil beamed. AMAROO came from third at the end of the reg­u­lar sea­son to take the Mixed A Grade ti­tle in em­phatic fash­ion. The ROOS downed Re­gional Auto Sup­plies 9-5.

B grade was taken out by Ladies and Tradies who de­feated Church St Cafe (CSC) Beavers in a tight match. Ladies and Tradies got up in the fi­nal min­utes to break a six-all dead­lock and win 7-6.

Win­ners of the Women’s Nine week com­pe­ti­tion were the Don Crosby Fil­lies who downed BTC Badgers 6-3. The Most im­proved play­ers of the com­pe­ti­tion were Belinda Tink and Shanique Dar­ling­ton.

Pic­tured are the Don Crosby Fil­lies: Back row, Darcee Nixon, Meg Robin­son, Kait­lyn Ma­son, Shel­ley Darcy, An­nie James, Re­becca Black­stock, front, Olivia Ford­ham, Hailee-jo Sut­cliffe, Makaya Darcy, Ella James

Ser­ena Prout and Nic Grose with their win­ners medals.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.