Who is run­ning for Division 10?

Fraser Coast Chronicle - - NEWS -

LACH­LAN Cos­grove is the fourth can­di­date to an­nounce his nom­i­na­tion for Division 10 of the Fraser Coast since it was va­cated by the newly elected mayor.

The Fraser Coast ra­dio pre­sen­ter joins re­tiree Richard Mott, for­mer coun­cil­lor Phil Tr­us­cott and for­mer may­oral can­di­date Paul Forst in the bid to be­come the Fraser Coast Re­gional Coun­cil’s next coun­cil­lor.

Mr Mott was the first to an­nounce his run last month.

He told the Chron­i­cle he had a strong in­ter­est in pub­lic af­fairs, hav­ing helped cur­rent Hornsby mayor Phillip Rud­dock dur­ing his suc­cess­ful can­di­dacy for the seat of Par­ra­matta in 1973.

Mr Forst, an ex-boil­er­maker, un­suc­cess­fully con­tested the last may­oral by­elec­tion.

Some of his proud­est ac­com­plish­ments in­clude de­vel­op­ing ma­jor in­fra­struc­ture for the Bris­bane Air­port.

Mr Tr­us­cott, who served on the coun­cil from 20122016, an­nounced his bid for re-elec­tion last week.

He was de­feated in the 2016 Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tion by in­cum­bent Division 2 coun­cil­lor Anne Mad­dern by about 82 votes.

Division 10 was va­cated af­ter coun­cil­lor Ge­orge Sey­mour was elected the Fraser Coast’s new mayor in May. A by-elec­tion date has been set for July 21.

Un­like the may­oral by­elec­tion, only res­i­dents who live in Division 10 will cast their vote.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.