THIS IS ME

A REG­U­LAR IN­SIGHT INTO SUN­SHINE COAST PER­SON­AL­I­TIES

Life & Style Weekend - - MAGAZINE | Q& A - ARTIST EMMAN ANCARROW

Raised at Sun­shine Beach and now work­ing from her home stu­dio in the Noosa hin­ter­land, Emma Nan­car­row is a painter with a love of in­te­ri­ors.

Dur­ing her ca­reer, Emma has had a sell-out solo ex­hi­bi­tion and suc­cess­ful group ex­hi­bi­tions. Her work has been on per­ma­nent dis­play at nu­mer­ous highly-re­garded gal­leries.

She is cur­rently host­ing an ex­hi­bi­tion, The In­te­rior Series, at the But­ter Fac­tory Arts Cen­tre in Maple St, Cooroy. The ex­hi­bi­tion is open Tues­days to Sun­days, from 10am to 3pm, un­til Fe­bru­ary 26.

1 Favourite time of day and why?

I’m an early riser. I love that first cup of tea be­fore the rest of the fam­ily wakes up.

2 What ex­cites you?

Work-wise, it’s def­i­nitely sell­ing a piece of my art­work. I love think­ing of where that piece is off to and what it will look like in its new home.

3 Favourite sport? Player or spec­ta­tor?

Eques­trian. I grew up rid­ing and com­pet­ing. It’s still my favourite sport. Cur­rently, I’m a spec­ta­tor/cheer­leader of my two boys’ school sports.

4 Best child­hood me­mory?

Long days at Sun­shine Beach with my fam­ily and the slow climb up the hill along the bush track home.

Also, lots of camp­ing with fam­ily and friends at North Shore and Fraser Is­land. We had so much fun.

They are trea­sured mem­o­ries that we still all laugh about. 5 Where were you born?

I was born in Bris­bane and my par­ents drove the four hours home to Sun­shine Beach with me a few days later. Ap­par­ently my crib was in the sun the whole car trip home and I had heat­stroke. Rookie mis­take from first-time par­ents.

6 Where would you like to hol­i­day? Any­where in Aus­tralia. I love ex­plor­ing our own back­yard. My favourite places so far have been Uluru and North West Is­land.

7 Cats or dogs? Do you have a pet? Dogs! We have a golden cocker spaniel, Molly. She’s the best dog in the whole world. We live on acreage so we also have two horses, chick­ens and cat­tle.

8 Who are your he­roes?

My Mum and Dad, of course. They’re good peo­ple.

9 Dream job?

Ice-cream tester.

10 What will you be do­ing in 10 years?

Hope­fully, hang­ing with friends and fam­ily, en­joy­ing our gor­geous Coast and all it has to of­fer. I also hope I’ve won the Lotto by then.

11 What’s the best thing about liv­ing on the Sun­shine Coast?

The list is huge. I love liv­ing on the Coast, but be­ing able to raise my kids in the same en­vi­ron­ment that I was raised in and see­ing them en­joy the best of the bush and beach and hav­ing so many op­por­tu­ni­ties avail­able to them is prob­a­bly top of the list.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.