Cream of the crop

Mansfield Courier - - COURIER SPORT -

THE GVFL grand fi­nal week be­gan with the vote count for the var­i­ous medals.

GVFL chair­man, David Roff, noted that dur­ing the year “we have seen a pretty com­pet­i­tive com­pe­ti­tion with all clubs show­ing pos­i­tive signs at var­i­ous stages, even if not win­ning”.

The Mor­ri­son Medal (se­niors) was won by Si­mon Buck­ley from Echuca.

Mr Roff said the re­sult was prob­a­bly a boil-over af­ter the for­mer AFL player failed to gain a vote in last year’s count.

Un­for­tu­nately Mans­field had no one in the top 10.

The re­serves’ Abikhair Medal went to Ben Pe­dretti from Shep­par­ton United on 21 votes.

Mans­field’s Ben Vo­gelzang and Earl Ree-Good­ings fol­lowed closely on 15 and 14 votes re­spec­tively.

In the un­der 18 count for the Pat­ti­son Medal the win­ner was Bray­den Frost from Euroa with 16 votes.

On the net­ball side of the com­pe­ti­tion, the win­ners were Well­man Medal (A grade) Stephanie Vick from Kyabram with 39 votes, San­dra Cox Medal (B grade) Tiann Freer from Shep­par­ton with 31 votes, Gaye Ea­ton Medal (B re­serve grade) Kirra Vick from Kyabram 36 votes and the Carol Ryan Medal saw Chloe Hill from Be­nalla win with 34 votes.

Mans­field Ea­gles in the mix were Amy Chan­dler with 16 votes in B re­serve and Nelle Cousins (21) and Darcy Crox­ford-De­masi (18) in 17 and un­der grade.

With the com­ple­tion of the grand fi­nals on Sun­day, sea­son 2016 is now over.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.