Mer­ri­jig Hall com­mit­tee farewells long stand­ing mem­ber

Mansfield Courier - - Courier Opinions/people -

THE Mer­ri­jig Pub­lic Hall com­mit­tee held their an­nual gen­eral meet­ing re­cently, farewellin­g the group’s long serv­ing trea­surer, Sen Weir, dur­ing the oc­ca­sion.

Com­mit­tee pres­i­dent, Des Dunn, said Sen had been con­nected with the hall for at least 40 years.

The com­mit­tee has also lost another val­ued mem­ber in the so­cial con­vener, Peter Deyell.

Mr Dunn de­scribed both as ‘sol­diers’, recog­nis­ing their con­tri­bu­tions to the com­mit­tee.

In his pres­i­dent’s re­port to the an­nual meet­ing, Mr Dunn thanked his ‘hard-work­ing’ com­mit­tee for help­ing to run the hall.

“It takes time away from fam­ily and ef­fort to do what we have achieved this year,” he said.

“The achieve­ments lead to a stronger and more con­nected com­mu­nity, one that we and our fam­ily mem­bers can be justly proud.”

Ma­jor ac­tiv­i­ties and achieve­ments for the group over 2019 in­clude the com­ple­tion of the new build­ing pro­vid­ing shel­ter at the Mer­ri­jig War and Ser­vice Me­mo­rial, the movie and trivia event nights and the FireReady Sup­per Dance in con­junc­tion with CFA.

This year’s dance was a huge suc­cess, up in at­ten­dance by about 50 per cent on last year.

Other achieve­ments in­cluded par­tic­i­pa­tion in the Mer­ri­jig Rodeo and land­scap­ing at the hall gar­dens un­der­taken by Kerri and Ge­off Bur­rowes, Colin Nash and Bruce Bar­ber.

Thanks go to the Mans­field Gar­den Club for sup­ply­ing the im­pe­tus and fund­ing.

On projects and grants, grants co-or­di­na­tor Ge­orge Deyell con­tin­ues to source and act on grant ap­pli­ca­tions.

Act­ing trea­surer Noel Wil­la­ton, who took on the role when needed, has crunched the num­bers and th­ese are avail­able.

“In con­clu­sion, let me ex­press my ap­pre­ci­a­tion and ad­mi­ra­tion to all of you for your work this year,” Mr Dunn said.

Lo­cal res­i­dent John McCombe took the chair for the election of of­fice bear­ers and com­mit­tee.

Those elected were: pres­i­dent - Des Dunn; vice pres­i­dent - Noel Wil­la­ton; sec­re­tary - Louise Ja­cob; trea­surer - Mary Dunn; grants co-or­di­na­tor Ge­orgie Deyell; Mer­ri­jig War and Ser­vice Com­mit­tee - Peter Howarth; and

book­ing of­fi­cer - Ker­rie Pur­cell.

The gen­eral com­mit­tee in­cludes Anne Bloom­field, Kaye Dyson, Lau­rie Ja­cob, Adrian Lawrence and Robert Reeve.

GOOD­BYE: Pic­tured after the Mer­ri­jig Pub­lic Hall AGM is, from left, Louise Ja­cob, Mary Dunn, Des Dunn, Ker­rie Pur­cell, Sen Weir stand­ing in front of her hus­band Ge­off Davies, Noel Wil­la­ton, Peter Deyell and Lau­rie Ja­cob.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.