Fo­cused sec­ond time round

Multisport Mecca - - Mooloolaba Triathlon Q&A -

Full name: Su­san Jane Green­ham. Nick­name: Janie, Susie Kadoozy, Suze. Birth­place: In­verell, NSW. Grew up on tobacco farm out­side of Ash­ford. The farm is now known as Kwiambal Na­tional Park. You can stay in the cot­tage I grew up in and go fish­ing in the rivers. The walk­ing tracks and scenery is amaz­ing. I never re­ally fully ap­pre­ci­ated what was in my own back­yard. Lives: Bud­erim Mead­ows. Oc­cu­pa­tion: Ad­min­is­tra­tion – Nam­bour Chris­tian Col­lege.

Age and mar­i­tal sta­tus: 47, mar­ried to Mathew, two chil­dren Kait­lyn (15) and Jonah (12). Club: At­las Mul­tisports.

Favourite food: Thai. Favourite drink: Cana­dian Club whiskey. Pet hates: Stu­pid­ity, neg­a­tive peo­ple. Sport: Triathlon.

How did you get in­volved in this sport: New Year’s res­o­lu­tion – “It is not like I want to do a triathlon or any­thing”. Then it got me think­ing “Why can’t I do a triathlon”? I was re­cov­er­ing from an ACL op­er­a­tion at the time so I had a bit of work to do. I did the At­las women’s be­gin­ners course which started the love of the sport. Favourite swim lo­ca­tion: Mooloolaba, par­tic­u­larly in win­ter when the ocean is calm and clear, you see fish and tur­tles. It is al­ways worth squeez­ing into the wet­suit and run­ning across the cold sand to jump into the wa­ter. What are your favourite

gog­gles and togs: I have a real lot of trou­ble with gog­gles be­cause I seem to have this odd-shaped face and it’s hard to get gog­gles to stick to my face and not leak. It is true – the man in the gog­gle shop even told me af­ter try­ing on gog­gles for at least 40 min­utes! I find the best ones are the Aqua Sphere mask gog­gles which are good for ocean swim­ming. My favourite togs are stan­dard black full-piece Speedos. Bit bor­ing re­ally. On the odd oc­ca­sion and for a change I wear coloured Funkita togs. Favourite rid­ing lo­ca­tion: Rid­ing up to Montville. It seemed such a big deal in the be­gin­ning. Ac­tu­ally, it still is a big deal – I want to be faster than my hus­band. It is the only stretch of road that I’m cur­rently faster than him. What bike do you ride: Avanti Vi­tale 4. It is over six years old, with­out car­bon, but I don’t par­tic­u­larly care. Favourite run lo­ca­tion: It is nice to run along Mooloolaba but it does get busy. I don’t mind run­ning

around Bud­erim Mead­ows and out to the Sun­shine Coast Univer­sity. I can run hills or flats from home.

What shoes do you run in: Hoka One One. Best or most mem­o­rable event: Prob­a­bly Mooloolaba Triathlon last year as this was my first Olympic dis­tance and the ocean was just per­fect. Bucket-list event: I would like to be so good at cy­cling that I could do the Bud­erim 9 un­der three hours. I’m a long way off.

Favourite race: Wish I could say Bri­bie Triathlon but that is where I fell off my bike and broke my col­lar­bone. What’s your favourite part of rac­ing and train­ing: It is def­i­nitely the ath­letes and the coaches that I train with that make a sig­nif­i­cant im­pact. I couldn’t do this on my own. I knew no one when I started train­ing with At­las and now I con­sider them some of my best friends. I would never had imag­ined it be­ing so much fun. The cof­fee and chats af­ter­wards are al­ways en­joy­able. What does a train­ing week look

like for you: I swim three times per week (in­clud­ing one ocean swim), cy­cle twice and run three times per week. Av­er­age solid 10-11 plus hours per week. Plus some sort of stretch­ing, core and strength ses­sions – that’s the bit that I’m not that con­sis­tent with. I’ve started a weekly PT ses­sion. Then there is the physio, myothe­r­a­phy and mas­sage ap­point­ments as my body is not get­ting any younger. What is you most dreaded ses­sions: Any­thing on my pro­gram for a Thurs­day. I do like my Thurs­days off. It en­ables me to catch up on my sleep. Oh, and any­thing that says Bud­erim hill re­peats for cy­cling. How are you feel­ing ahead of Mooloolaba: I’m feel­ing ner­vous about Mooloolaba as this will only be my sec­ond Olympic-dis­tance triathlon. I’ve done a whole year of con­sis­tent train­ing so I hope to be faster than last year. My wave start is early so that is good. I hope the ocean is kind to me on March 11. What is on your rac­ing agenda this year: The plan for this year is to do 70.3 Sun­shine Coast in Au­gust and Noosa Tri in Novem­ber. I’ve done nei­ther of these races al­though I did watch both races last year as a spec­ta­tor/vol­un­teer. How do you man­age to fit in train­ing with work and life com­mit­ments: It’s not easy fit­ting ev­ery­thing in. It’s all about rou­tine. Train­ing is close to home so com­mut­ing time is a min­i­mum. The bulk of my train­ing is done early morn­ings and I’m usu­ally up by 4.30 at the lat­est. I have break­fast, a cof­fee, do a few house­hold chores and pack lunches be­fore I go for the day.

I’ve usu­ally left home be­fore the fam­ily is up. I’m very for­tu­nate that our whole fam­ily ei­ther works or at­tends Nam­bour Chris­tian Col­lege. I get many side­ways looks when I say ‘good morn­ing’ to my hus­band at work morn­ing tea or give my teenage kids a morn­ing hug in school grounds.

I gen­er­ally work school hours, so it en­ables me to run the kids around to their ac­tiv­i­ties af­ter school, do a few chores and hope­fully get to bed early. My kids, par­tic­u­larly my son, has been join­ing me for swim­ming which has been rather en­joy­able and it gives us that time to­gether.

I’m very for­tu­nate, ev­ery­thing has fallen into place. I have a very sup­port­ive hus­band and kids.

On the out­side it looks per­fect but I’m the first to ac­knowl­edge it’s hard to let the house­work slip and I’m very aware that I don’t get to spend as much time as I would like with my hus­band.

I tend to get cranky if I don’t get enough sleep or enough to eat. I’m learn­ing to say ‘no’ to other com­mit­ments. This will be the first sea­son that I haven’t coached a net­ball team. If you could have a celebrity live with you, who would it be: Jamie Oliver for all the healthy food and some­one to do all the cook­ing! When you were little what job did you want to do: Rich farmer.

Best movie: Due to my busy life, I don’t watch too many movies. Cur­rent car: Ford Fo­cus sedan. Dream car: I would like to have a garage full of cars.

PHOTO: CON­TRIB­UTED

READY TO ROLL: Su­san Green­ham of Bud­erim is pre­par­ing for her sec­ond Mooloolaba Triathlon.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.