Vet pre­pared to face Kona fire

Multisport Mecca - - Ironman World Championship Q&a -

Full name: Anne Al­ford. Nick­name: An­nie.

Birth­place: Bris­bane.

Cur­rent sub­urb: Gympie. Oc­cu­pa­tion: Vet.

Age and mar­i­tal sta­tus: 36, mar­ried with two kids (nine and seven).

Sport: Triathlon.

Club/coach: Noosa Tri Club, coach Jess Flem­ing from Mul­tisport Con­sul­tants in Noosa.

Favourite food: Fruit, any kind but es­pe­cially mango.

Favourite drink: In­finit.

What other sports do you do: When I have time and in a pre­vi­ous “life” I loved horserid­ing – any­thing from event­ing to team pen­ning. I also en­joy moun­tain bik­ing and off-road triathlon.

Pet hates: Stop­ping for cof­fee on a long ride. How­ever, I love a cof­fee at the end.

Favourite run lo­ca­tion: Noosa Na­tional Park on a school day be­cause it’s quiet and beau­ti­ful. What are your favourite shoes: Hokas – they pro­vide enough cush­ion­ing and sup­port for my dodgy feet but are still nice and light.

Favourite rid­ing lo­ca­tion: On the road, I love my route through Kin Kin, Cootharaba Rd, Te­wantin, Cooroy and Carter’s Ridge and then home via Ke­nil­worth. It’s a fan­tas­tic loop with a de­cent amount of climb­ing to sus­tain my need for good views. On the moun­tain bike, I ab­so­lutely love es­cap­ing into the hills west of Gympie for hours on end.

What bike do you ride: Cervelo P3. My Gran helped me buy this bike about five years ago and I have a huge sen­ti­men­tal at­tach­ment to it. Thank­fully, it’s still go­ing strong.

Favourite swim lo­ca­tion: Lake Taupo NZ. I’ve never swum in such crys­tal clear wa­ter, it was re­fresh­ing and beau­ti­ful.

What swimwear and gog­gles do you use: Funkita swim­mers and Vici gog­gles.

Best or most mem­o­rable event: It’s hard to go past the 2016 ITU Cross-triathlon World Cham­pi­onships in Crack­en­back. Rac­ing in a stun­ning lo­ca­tion in my home coun­try was un­beat­able. But Iron­man New Zealand would be a close se­cond.

Bucket-list event: Sri Chin­moy Triple triathlon in Can­berra. This one has my at­ten­tion – 1.5k swim/ 36k MTB/ 18k run, 3.5k swim/ 36k MTB/ 11k run then 1.2k swim/23k MTB/ 13k run, back to back. Sounds like awe­some fun.

Favourite race: Cross-triathlon at Crack­en­back, NSW. This lo­ca­tion is sim­ply stun­ning, the event is run by In2Ad­ven­ture and has such a “fam­ily” feel to it. It’s so laid back and fun.

What’s your favourite part of rac­ing and train­ing: I love the chal­lenge and sense of ac­com­plish­ment that train­ing and rac­ing gives me. I also re­ally en­joy see­ing what I’m ca­pa­ble of pro­duc­ing on race day and in train­ing.

How did you qual­ify for Hawaii: I raced Iron­man New Zealand in March this year as my first Iron­man dis­tance race and had an amaz­ing day out. I man­aged to place se­cond in my age group and booked my ticket to Kona.

How are you feel­ing ahead of worlds: I’m feel­ing great. I’ve done the work and the body is re­spond­ing well, so I can’t wait to see what I can pro­duce. I’m su­per ex­cited to get over to Hawaii and soak up the at­mos­phere but at the same time a lit­tle ner­vous. But if I wasn’t ner­vous, I’d be wor­ried. What other events have you rep­re­sented Aus­tralia: I’ve rep­re­sented Aus­tralia at the 2013 ITU Olympic dis­tance world champs in Lon­don and the 2016 ITU Cross-triathlon World Champs in Crack­en­back NSW where I came away with an age group win and fourth over­all. What does a train­ing week looked like for you in terms of vol­ume and dis­ci­plines: The typ­i­cal train­ing week in­volves be­tween 13-16km of swim­ming, 300-400km of rid­ing, 70-85km of run­ning and 2-3 gym ses­sions, so be­tween 20-25 hours.

What are your ex­pec­ta­tions at the world cham­pi­onships: I just want to get over there and soak up the at­mos­phere and en­joy ev­ery mo­ment of the race. I have no real ex­pec­ta­tions re­sults-wise, but ob­vi­ously I have my own per­sonal goals in each dis­ci­pline that I’d love to achieve. Most of all, I re­ally want to en­joy it!

What is your most dreaded ses­sion: I have a few – in the pool, it’s the dreaded tow­els. At­tach­ing these to my feet is like hook­ing up an an­chor, my hips sink and I’m like a dy­ing fish flail­ing around.

On the bike – the FTP test – does any­one like these? And run­ning, it’d have to be in­ter­vals. Try­ing to get these con­sis­tently fast and ef­fi­cient is a real chal­lenge for me.

How do you man­age to fit in train­ing with work and life com­mit­ments: I get asked this of­ten as my hus­band works away for two weeks at a time and is only home for eight days in be­tween, so I have a strict sched­ule. I start early ev­ery morn­ing and make sure I get in a ses­sion be­fore the kids get up, then off to school and work. I use my lunch hour at work to train most days, then pick the kids up from school and drop them to their ac­tiv­i­ties, I use this time to train (or do the gro­ceries), then when we get home it’s feed­ing time at the zoo – two and four-legged crea­tures alike.

I al­ways pack lunches the night be­fore so it’s done for the morn­ing rush. I’m usu­ally a lit­tle late for ev­ery­thing, and al­ways on the go. Lit­er­ally ev­ery minute of ev­ery day is planned out. I also have an amaz­ing mum, that has com­mit­ted plenty of time to driv­ing up to Gympie on the week­ends that I’m with­out my hus­band, just so that I can get out and ride/run/swim and then re­cover.

If you could have a celebrity live with you, who would it be and why: Jamie Oliver - If I didn’t have to think about or cook any meals, it’d be like a dream come true. Although he’d have to do the dishes too!

When you were lit­tle what job did you want to do: I think I wanted to be a nurse be­cause that’s what Mum did.

Best movie: Top Gun – this was a reg­u­lar in our house­hold grow­ing up.

Cur­rent car: Ford Ranger.

Dream car: 2018 Shelby Mus­tang.

PHOTO: CON­TRIB­UTED

HAWAII DE­BUT: Gympie-based vet Anne Al­ford will be at the start line of the 2018 Iron­man World Cham­pi­onship.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.