Saints’ best named

Myrtleford Times - - Front Page - BY TATE SPITERI tspi­[email protected] ne­me­

FU­TURE Myrtle­ford hall of famer, Matt Dussin, has now added a McNa­mara Medal to his grow­ing leg­end at the Saints.

The pow­er­ful de­fender turned ruck­man was a run­away win­ner of the award with his 191 votes com­fort­ably ahead of fel­low co-cap­tain Mitch Dal­bosco (97) and Eli­jah Wales (71).

Amaz­ingly, had Dussin have stopped play­ing af­ter the first votes up­date fol­low­ing round five he still would have fin­ished third with 64 votes.

Brady Sharp (62) and Hugh Wales (58) rounded out the top five.

Dussin, who thanked his team­mates, coaches and the clubs helpers for the sea­son, paid spe­cial trib­ute to his par­ents.

“I have been trav­el­ling back (from Mel­bourne) for seven years now and it’s like I never walked out of home. I am fed, I am looked af­ter and they lis­ten to me af­ter games,” he said.

“I can’t thank them enough; they are my big­gest sup­port­ers and my fairest crit­ics.”

Dal­bosco, who had a ca­reer best fin­ish in the McNa­mara Medal him­self, de­scribed Dussin as the best player in the com­pe­ti­tion.

“To travel back each week and give the level of com­mit­ment and per­for­mance that he does says a lot about his char­ac­ter, it is an hon­our to run out with him ev­ery week,” he added.

In the A Grade net­ball, Saige Broz (46 votes) held off fel­low mid­court player Lou Har­ring­ton (42) de­spite miss­ing a num­ber of games for a mid-sea­son hol­i­day.

Broz re­turned to the club this year af­ter stints play­ing in Mel­bourne and set a new bench mark for fit­ness and on court en­ergy.

The B Grade net­ball was won by gun shooter Re­becca Pi­azza while Han­nah Masin and Eadie Pfahlert claimed the C Grade and Un­der 16 top gongs.

Un­der 14s net­ball awards were also pre­sented on the night with Lily Cuskelly, So­phie Pitts and Alex Mu­raca each crowned their teams MVP’s.

Other spe­cial awards were handed out to the best club peo­ple with Bren­don Wood re­ceiv­ing the Kevin Smith per­pet­ual award for sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tion to game day op­er­a­tions, Am­ber Quirk the Terry Burgess se­nior award for be­ing the best club per­son (player) and Mar­cus James the Peter Ivone award for the best club per­son (non-player).

Out­go­ing Pres­i­dent, Michael Quirk, also re­ceived a stand­ing ova­tion from the packed out clu­b­rooms for his four years at the helm.

Quirk will be re­placed in the role by Ian Wales.

BEST OF THE LOT: Saige Broz and Matt Dussin were crowned Myrtle­ford’s club cham­pi­ons for net­ball and foot­ball in front of 180 peo­ple at the Ablett Pav­il­ion on Fri­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.