Wan­der­ers top tally of hon­ours

Narrogin Observer - - News - Tim Ed­munds

Kade Ste­wart’s re­turn to coun­try footy was capped off with the Up­per Great South­ern Foot­ball League’s high­est in­di­vid­ual hon­our, the Leo Graham Medal, on Mon­day night.

Re­turn­ing to his orig­i­nal club Katan­ning Wan­der­ers after be­ing delisted by Hawthorn last sea­son after seven games in two years, Ste­wart’s 27 votes was enough to edge out Wil­liams star Si­mon Panizza (21), last year’s winner Nathan Brav­ing­ton (20) and Bod­ding­ton’s Jye Depane (20).

Mon­day night’s vote count at Kuk­erin Dum­b­leyung Foot­ball Club saw Ste­wart also recog­nised with the Ra­dio Great South­ern Big K Pro­mo­tion foot­baller of the year award, fin­ish­ing on 26 votes.

In the re­serves vote count, Katan­ning’s Coen Mar­wick was awarded the Life Member’s Medal on 15 votes ahead of Wa­gin’s Brodie Wal­lam (14), Kuk­erin Dum­b­leyung duo Nathan Ditch­burn and Adam Gray (12) and Brook­ton Pin­gelly’s Ty­rone Bowen Zoc­coli (12).

Katan­ning sharp­shooter Braden Crosby was awarded the Ross Ditch­burn Tro­phy as the league’s lead­ing goal kicker with 68, while Katan­ning’s James Bar­ritt (32 goals) won the Michael Kain Tro­phy for top re­serves goal kicker.

The dom­i­nant night for the Wan­der­ers con­tin­ued when they re­ceived the Don An­der­son Me­mo­rial Shield for cham­pion club while club stal­wart Ken Quar­ter­maine won the WACFL Vol­un­teer of the Year Award.

Wa­gin’s Mau­rie Becker re­ceived the UGSFL Max Chiv­ell Award for vol­un­teer of the year while Kuke- rin Dum­b­leyung was recog­nised as the best ad­min­is­tered club, re­ceiv­ing the Lor­raine Pil­lage Me­mo­rial Award.

Two life mem­ber­ships were pre­sented to for­mer league president Michael Kain and Kuk­erin Dum­b­leyung’s Graeme Taylor for many years of out­stand­ing ser­vice.

Katan­ning take on Bod­ding­ton in the sec­ond semi­fi­nal at Wil­liams this Sun­day.

Picture: Richard Poul­ish

Katan­ning's Kade Ste­wart looks for op­tions.

Picture: Michael Traill

Kade Ste­wart with the Leo Graham Medal.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.