New Zealand Classic Car - - FEATURE -

Some fa­mous names who went on to be world cham­pi­ons in­clude Emer­son Fit­ti­paldi, James Hunt, Jody Scheck­ter, Nigel Mansell, Da­mon Hill, Ayr­ton Senna, Jac­ques Vil­leneuve, Mika Häkki­nen, and Michael Schu­macher. The for­mula sol­diered on with the Ford Kent engine for many sea­sons, un­til the in­tro­duc­tion of the 1800cc Zetec engine, but still with steel space-frame chas­sis and no car­bon fi­bre al­lowed. The next engine change was to the Ford Du­ratec engine, in­tro­duced in 2006, and a spec­i­fi­ca­tion change back to 1600cc en­gines. Then 2012 saw the in­tro­duc­tion of Ford’s Eco­boost engine un­til 2015, when the se­ries changed to For­mula Four reg­u­la­tions.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.