19–20 Jan­uary Taupo His­toric Grand Prix, Bruce Mclaren Mo­tor­sport Park

New Zealand Classic Car - - Nationwide Events -

The ti­tle of His­toric Grand Prix will go to the win­ner of the fea­ture event, round two of the 2018/’19 SAS Au­toparts MSC NZ F5000 Tas­man Cup Re­vival Se­ries. Seventy-seven-year-old su­per-vet­eran Ken Smith, MBE, leads the se­ries af­ter a clean-sweep at all three races at the first round at Pukekohe. Also rac­ing are Michael Collins (Leda LT24), for­mer se­ries cham­pion Brett Wil­lis (Lola T330), Glenn Richards (Lola T400), Tony Gal­braith (Lola T332), Aaron Bur­son (Mcrae GM1), Kevin In­gram (Lola T332), and some of the reg­u­lar Aus­tralian vis­i­tors sched­uled to re­turn to these shores for the sum­mer of Kiwi F5000 ac­tion.

Join­ing the F5000s for the an­nual Taupo his­toric rac­ing fans’ fes­ti­val are His­toric Mus­cle Cars — the over 3.0-litre SCCA Trans-am and FIA Group 2, Group 5, and early Sched­ule E cars that con­tested the New Zealand Saloon Car Cham­pi­onship dur­ing the late 1960s and early 1970s; His­toric Saloon Cars — un­der 3.0-litre Group 2, Group 5, and Sched­ule E cars from the same era; His­toric Sports Sedans and All-com­ers from the 1960s and 1970s; His­toric For­mula Fords, cel­e­brat­ing the 50th an­niver­sary of the cat­e­gory’s in­tro­duc­tion to New Zealand, in­clud­ing eight cars from Europe; and For­mula Ju­niors, For­mula 3, and In­vited Sports Rac­ing Cars from the 1950s and 1960s.

Head to brucem­claren­mo­tor­sport­park.com for more in­for­ma­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.