North East Tourist News
Milawa & District
THE history of Milawa dates back to the time of the Aboriginal tribe of Pangerang, who were a sub-clan who occupied much of North East Victoria including lands in the Milawa area.
IN 1824 explorers Hume and Hovell passed through Milawa and Hovell named the area Oxley Plains after Sir John Oxley, Surveyor General of the Colony of NSW.
The cemetery was established in 1864 and was expanded by approximately two acres within the first 12 months.
The original Milawa hotel - the Commercial Hotel - was built in 1870 and the Milawa Town Hall, which was a Mechanics Institute and included a free library and spacious hall opened in 1889.
In 1891, a dairy company (Milawa Butter Factory) was established and by 1896, it was one of the largest in Australia.
John Francis Brown was 18 years old in 1885 when he planted 10 acres of Riesling, Muscat and Shiraz grapes on the Milawa property, which is one of the most well known wineries in Victoria.
Many of the buildings are still in existence, though not all still carry on their original businesses.
Take a walk around Milawa today to immerse yourself in its history.