Best fic­tion for the hol­i­day sea­son

Northern Rivers Style - - CONTENTS -

Look­ing for a great sum­mer read? We asked the staff at The Book Ware­house Lis­more to give us their rec­om­men­da­tions: Best Sum­mer Sto­ries edited by Aviva Tuffield: Grab your towel, head to the sand and be en­ter­tained and en­thralled by some of Aus­tralia’s best writ­ers. Stephanie Bishop, Chris Womer­s­ley, Romy Ash and Tony Birch amongst oth­ers weave tales to make this sum­mer a mem­o­rable one. - Lea.

Some­thing in the Wa­ter by Cather­ine Stead­man: Who wouldn’t want a ro­man­tic get­away on Bora Bora? Suc­cess­ful young pro­fes­sion­als, Erin and Mark do a bit of div­ing and dis­cover some­thing un­ex­pected and com­pletely life chang­ing. What would you do? An ac­com­plished and well crafted page turner, per­fect for some sum­mer in­dul­gence. - Lea.

Ta­ble for Eight by Tri­cia Stringer: Cruise from Syd­ney to the Pa­cific Is­lands with the charis­matic Ketty Clift, who is busy al­ter­ing the course of the lives of her fel­low pas­sen­gers while avoid­ing her own trou­bles in this clever, amus­ing and heart­warm­ing novel by best-selling Aus­tralian au­thor Tri­cia Stringer. - Caz. Kiss Quo­tient by He­len Hoang: For fans of The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Com­pletely Fine — with added chem­istry, ro­mance and heat. Stella Lane is a 30-year-old math­e­ma­ti­cian with par­ents ea­ger for her to get mar­ried and cre­ate grand­ba­bies. The only prob­lem is Stella has Asp­berger's and no idea how to step away from her num­bers and form re­la­tion­ships with other peo­ple. De­cid­ing she needs an ex­pert's help she hires an es­cort to teach her what is ex­pected and both get far more than they bar­gained for.hi­lar­i­ous and sexy. - Caz.

The Seal­woman's Gift by Sally Mag­nus­son: Sweep­ing from freez­ing, re­mote Ice­landic is­lands in the north to the heat of Al­giers in the mid-1600s, this is a novel of pas­sion, pain and sur­vival against an in­dif­fer­ent world. Asta is torn from her home, her fam­ily, and ev­ery­thing she has ever known, and thrown into a life of slav­ery. Her in­domitable spirit keeps her go­ing through each new hard­ship. - Kate.

Si­lence of the Girls by Pat Barker: A new take on the an­cient story of the last days of the Tro­jan war, this tale is told from the point of view of the en­slaved Bri­seis, a Tro­jan princess given to the war­rior Achilles as his re­ward for de­stroy­ing her city and killing her fam­ily and her peo­ple. Heat and blood, war and re­venge, pas­sion, pride and redemp­tion, this book has it all in spades. - Kate.

■ The Book Ware­house 107-109 Keen St, Lis­more

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.