WA Historic Ti­tles

HCMCWA State Historic Rac­ing Cham­pi­onships Rd1

Old Bike Australasia - - CONTENTS - Re­port and pho­tos John Innes

16 April, 2017 – Col­lie, WA

The test­ing Col­lie cir­cuit south of Perth was the venue for the first round of the HCMCWA State Cham­pi­onships on Easter Sun­day, with top weather, a good num­ber of en­tries and great rac­ing through­out the day. The Pe­riod 6 – 125/250/500 was the class with one of the largest fields with some seven­teen rid­ers fronting the starter for race one. When the lights went out it was #117 Richard Lang­don (1990 Suzuki 250) that shot to the front. Sec­ond was #120 Matt Pow­ell (1990 Suzuki 250) with #75 Tony Hynes (1991 Suzuki 250) third at the end of the five lap jour­ney. The sec­ond race was a car­bon copy of the first. The fi­nal race again saw Lang­don and Pow­ell fin­ish first and sec­ond re­spec­tively with #145 Mark Laing – Hughes (1988 Suzuki 250) grab­bing the fi­nal podium po­si­tion. Lang­don has 75 points with Pow­ell on 60 and LaingHughe­s on 52 points. In the Pe­riod 2 & Pe­riod 3, it was #58 Glenn Bald­win (1958 BSA 500) who se­cured the three wins from as many starts and has a per­fect 75 points. Pe­riod 6 750/Un­lim­ited, Pre Moderns and 125GP saw #46 Daniel Bar­son (1990 Suzuki 750) com­plete a clean sweep of the three races, se­cur­ing 75 cham­pi­onship points. Pe­riod 4 – 250/350/500/750 and Pe­riod 5 – 250/350/500 saw #87 Brian Richard­son (1981 Yamaha TZ 350) come out on top fol­low­ing his sec­ond place in the first race with wins in the fi­nal two races. He has 70 cham­pi­onship points. Pe­riod 5 – 750/Un­lim­ited saw #15 Rory Reibel (1980 Suzuki 1200) clean sweep the three races se­cur­ing max­i­mum cham­pi­onship points for the round. Historic Side­cars saw #105 Mark Ack­er­mans/Tris­tan Scalmer score three wins in the cham­pi­onship. Moderns & Thun­der­bikes saw #777 Joshua Mathers (Suzuki GSX-R 600) take three from three in the class. Whilst in the Mod­ern Side­cars # 20 Graeme Evans/Jar­rod Scott took three from three in the mod­ern three wheel brigade.

Richard Lang­don was top dog in Pe­riod 6 250.

Suzuki GSX-R600 mounted Joshua Maters won the Moderns & Thun­der­bikes class. Triple win­ners Mark Ack­er­mans & Tris­tan Scalmer. Pe­riod 4 350 win­ner Brian Richard­son.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.