Award nom­i­na­tions open

Pilbara News - - News -

Nom­i­na­tions for the Western Aus­tralian of the Year Awards 2019 opened last week, of­fi­cially kick­start­ing the search for the most in­spi­ra­tional role mod­els in the State.

High achiev­ers in fields such as Abo­rig­i­nal af­fairs, sport, youth sup­port, busi­ness, com­mu­nity, pro­fes­sions and arts and cul­ture are en­cour­aged to ap­ply for the awards, which cel­e­brate in­di­vid­u­als’ out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tions to var­i­ous causes. Previous win­ners in­clude Janet Holmes a Court for arts and cul­ture, Gail Al­li­son JP for Abo­rig­i­nal af­fairs and Ron Alexan­der for sport.

The North West has also had its share of win­ners, such as Kar­ratha’s Ryan Mor­rich who won the youth award in 2017, the Pil­bara’s James Fitz­patrick who won the Pro­fes­sions Award in 2017 and the Pil­bara’s Dr John van Bock­xmeer who won the com­mu­nity award in 2016.

Mem­bers of the pub­lic can nom­i­nate an in­di­vid­ual, or in­ter­ested ap­pli­cants can self-nom­i­nate through www.wa­ un­til Fe­bru­ary 15.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.