Seymour Telegraph - - FRONT PAGE - Ci­ti­zen­ship: Zac Dray­ton, pre­sented by Trevor Cub­bin.

Nagam­bie Pri­mary School held a grad­u­a­tion din­ner for its de­part­ing Year 6 stu­dents last Wednes­day, with 22 grad­u­at­ing stu­dents and their fam­i­lies at­tend­ing.

The Nagam­bie Me­chan­ics In­sti­tute hall was dec­o­rated with bal­loons, photo mem­o­ra­bilia of the stu­dents’ years — from kinder to Year 6 — and grad­u­a­tion sig­na­ture bears.

The school staff, un­der the lead­er­ship of He­len Heath­cote and Rose Lind­ner, and their helpers made the night me­morable for the Year 6 stu­dents.

‘‘The most im­por­tant thing that will de­ter­mine how suc­cess­ful you are at se­condary school is not your English or maths skills, as im­por­tant as they are, but your char­ac­ter, the type of per­son that you are,’’ prin­ci­pal Rob French told the stu­dents.

A slide show was shown through­out the din­ner, pic­tur­ing many ac­tiv­i­ties the stu­dents had been in­volved in dur­ing their pri­mary school life.

Mr French and Year 6 teach­ers James Body­coat and Kelsey Math­e­son thanked the stu­dents, fam­i­lies, teach­ing staff, lo­cal or­gan­i­sa­tions and vol­un­teers for an ex­cel­lent year and for sup­port­ing the Year 6 stu­dents dur­ing their school years.

Each stu­dent made a speech be­fore the school awards were pre­sented by lo­cal rep­re­sen­ta­tives of var­i­ous or­gan­i­sa­tions. Arts Award: Jimmy Jack­son. Neil Lod­ding Sports Award: Alysha McLeod. Neil Lod­ding Per­pet­ual Tro­phy: Alysha McLeod. Lions Club of Nagam­bie and Dis­trict En­cour­age­ment Award: Elyza Houri­gan. Most Im­proved Award: Olivia Kidd and Lily Mitcham. ‘You’ve got what it takes’ Weary Dun­lop

Award: Laci Hep­burn. 2018 School Coun­cil Ci­ti­zen­ship Award: Zac Dray­ton. Fran Ir­win Lit­er­acy Award: Ari Lo­gus. Kevin Verge Memo­rial Maths and Sci­ence Award: Re­gan Tay­lor.

Aca­demic Ex­cel­lence for 2018: Ab­bie Mitchell. — Diane Grant


Arts: Jimmy Jack­son, pre­sented by Monique Kidd and Jas­mine Le Deux (Nagam­bie Par­ents and Friends com­mit­tee).

Neil Lod­ding Sports Award: Alysha McLeod, pre­sented by He­len Heath­cote (Nagam­bie Foot­ball Net­ball Club), Neil Lod­ding and Steve Brook (Nagam­bie Cricket Club).

Weary Dun­lop Award: Laci Hep­burn.

Kevin Verge Memo­rial Maths and Sci­ence: Re­gan Tay­lor.

Fran Ir­win Lit­er­acy Award: Ari Lo­gus, pre­sented by Clint Ir­win.

Grad­u­at­ing class: Rob French (prin­ci­pal), Kelsey Math­e­son (teacher), Zac Dray­ton, Ry­lan Joyce, Lily Mitcham, James Croft, Jor­dan Looker, Wil­liam Le Deux, Ari Lo­gus, Am­ber Wil­liams, Laci Hep­burn, Elyza Houri­gan, Olivia Kidd, Tahlia Rus­sell, Chloe Mitcham, Re­gan Tay­lor, Jas­mine Ket­tels, Alysha McLeod, Jimmy Jack­son, Macken­zie Brew, Ab­bie Mitchell, Lo­gan Webb, James Body­coat (teacher) and Nick Lind­ner.

Most Im­proved: Lily Mitcham and Olivia Kidd, pre­sented by Rose Lind­ner (Ta­bilk Ju­nior Foot­ball Net­ball Club).

Aca­demic ex­cel­lence: Ab­bie Mitchell, pre­sented by Vin Palmer (Nagam­bie Ma­sonic Lodge).

En­cour­age­ment: Elyza Houri­gan, pre­sented by Mar­lene Brew (Nagam­bie and Dis­trict Lions Club).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.