South Western Times - - Front Page - Ge­orge Good­win

It was a happy birth­day for Marist hockey star Kee­gan Schoultz on Sun­day, with the 22year-old join­ing a list of fam­ily sport­ing achieve­ments to share with his mother Mel and fa­ther Fritz.

Schoultz polled 30 votes at the South West Hockey League’s medal count to win the Scott Medal nine votes ahead of Boy­anup run­ner-up Kane Wetherell.

The tal­ented Marist player took his game up a level in 2018 after claim­ing the A2 grade fairest and best last sea­son.

Adding to the Boy­anup suc­cess was Al­lyce Sewell, who won her sec­ond Marie Cross fairest and best medal, polling 43 votes.

Run­ner up was Bronte Price on 33 votes.

With Schoultz tak­ing the men’s award and his Marist team­mates Alby Lawrence and coach Daniel Sam­pey recog­nised as the com­pe­ti­tion’s top goal scor­ers, it proved to be a mem­o­rable evening for the Blues who scooped the pool across all grades.

All award win­ners on the evening were as fol­lows:

South West Hockey League Men’s - Fairest and best: Kee­gan Schoultz (Marist), run­ner up: Kane Wetherell (Boy­anup), High­est goal scorer: Alby Lawrence (Marist) and Daniel Sam­pey (Marist).

South West Hockey League Women’s - Fairest and best: Al­lyce Sewell (Boy­anup), run­ner up: Bronte Price (As­so­ciates), High­est goal scorer: Dee Gar­stone (Robins).

SWHL Men’s Um­pire of the Year: An­drew Blee; SWHL Women’s Um­pire of the Year: Emily Fraser

A2 Men’s - Fairest and best: Dave Tar­rant (Marist), run­ner up: Mar­cus Apanah (Marist), high­est goal scorer: Mark John­son (Ex­ies).

Fairest and best: Ja­nis A2 Women’s - Bea­dle (Boyup Brook), run­ner up: Jodi Nield (Boyup Brook), high­est goal scorer: Tar­ryn Scott (Marist).

Fairest and best: Mal A3 Men’s - Cham­pion (Ex­ies Cubs) and Peter Gardiner (Don­ny­brook), run­ner up: Ben Bregazzi (Marist), high­est goal scorer: Keane Bavin (Har­vey).

Fairest and best: A3 Women’s - Aleisha Crowd (Ex­ies), run­ner up: Ly­dia Torissi (Don­ny­brook), high­est goal scorer: Joanna Rodgers (Ex­ies Kit­tens).

Bun­bury and Dis­tricts Hockey As­so­ci­a­tion - De­vel­op­ment Um­pire of the Year: Cal­lum Skip­pings, women’s goal­keeper of the year: Kate Lock­ley (Marist),

men’s goal­keeper of the year: Trevor Foster (Ex­ies), women’s A-Grade coun­try week fairest and best: Jon­nelle Zaba­jnik.

Chal­lenge Cup Win­ners - Wests (SWHLM), Boy­anup (SWHLW), Marist (A2M), Marist (A2W), Boy­anup (A3M) SWHLM: Wests, SWHLW: Boy­anup, A2M: Marist, A2W: Marist, A3M: Boy­anup, A3W: Ex­ies Kit­tens, BDHA Cham­pion Club: Marist.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.