CMA to de­velop ac­tion plan

Southern Riverina news - - Rural Outlook -

The man­age­ment of nat­u­ral re­sources and the way they in­flu­ence the eco­nomic and so­cial life of the NSW Mur­ray catch­ment will now be un­der the spot­light.

The Mur­ray CMA Com­mu­nity Com­mit­tee will work with the catch­ment com­mu­nity to de­velop the Mur­ray Catch­ment Ac­tion Plan over the next 12 months.

Mur­ray CMA Board has taken a fresh and in­no­va­tive ap­proach to the de­vel­op­ment of the Catch­ment Ac­tion Plan by de­volv­ing the task of pre­par­ing the plan to a com­mu­nity based com­mit­tee.

This ap­proach will en­sure that the opin­ions and as­pi­ra­tions of the NSW Mur­ray catch­ment com­mu­nity are lis­tened to in the de­velop- ment of the five-year plan, which will guide in­vest­ment to en­sure the main­te­nance and en­hance­ment of pro­duc­tive land­scapes across the catch­ment.

The com­mit­tee is chaired by David Sexton of Thur­goona, who has served on a num­ber of boards and com­mit­tees in­volved with catch­ment man­age­ment, pest plants and an­i­mals as well as hav­ing a dis­tin­guished ca­reer in lo­cal gov­ern­ment ad­min­is­tra­tion.

The com­mit­tee re­flects not only the ge­o­graphic spread of the NSW Mur­ray catch­ment, but rep­re­sents all as­pects of the so­cial and eco­nomic fab­ric of the com­mu­nity from farm­ers to the ur­ban pop­u­la­tion, lo­cal gov­ern­ment to indige­nous com­mu­ni­ties.

Mr Sexton said the ac­tion plan would bal­ance the ex­pec­ta­tions of the com­mu­nity and gov­ern­ment to pro­duce a plan that is adopted by the com­mu­nity and en­dorsed by all gov­ern­ment agen­cies.

‘‘We are com­mit­ted to bal­anc­ing sound en­vi­ron­men­tal man­age­ment with eco­nomic well be­ing for farm­ers, the wider catch­ment com­mu­nity and the towns that sup­port them,’’ he said.

‘‘It is es­sen­tial that the agri­cul­tural in­dus­tries are pro­duc­tive, prof­itable and vi­able, to get in­vest­ment in nat­u­ral re­source man­age­ment across the Mur­ray Catch­ment.’’

An ex­ten­sive en­gage­ment pro­gram will start this month and con­tinue right through­out May and June, pro­vid­ing the catch­ment com­mu­nity with an op­por­tu­nity to be­come in­volved and help shape the fu­ture of nat­u­ral re­source man­age­ment within the catch­ment. Meet­ings are yet to be an­nounced.

Other com­mit­tee mem­bers in­clude: Ray Stubbs (Al­bury), Judy Franken­berg (Bur­rum­but­tock), David Wolfenden (Rand), John Keogh (Hol­brook), Robin Craw­ford (Moulamein), Bruce Sax­ton (Khan­coban), Bruce Simp­son (De­niliquin), Louise Burge (Tup­pal-bul­latale), Rus­sell Ford (Jer­ilderie), Jenny Mcleod (Fin­ley), Deb­bie Flower-briggs (De­niliquin), along with Mur­ray CMA Board mem­bers - Brian Royal (Table­top), An­drew Urquhart (Hol­brook), and Sally Dye (Conargo).

Com­mit­tee mem­bers (from left) An­drew Urquhart, Louise Burge, Ray Stubbs, Rus­sell Ford, Bruce Sax­ton, David Sexton, David Wolfenden, Judy Franken­berg, Bruce Simp­son, Brian Royal, John Keogh.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.