Bar­low Cats’ best

Southern Riverina news - - SPORT -

Key for­ward Ed Bar­low re­versed this year’s Mur­ray Foot­ball League best and fairest re­sult to claim Fin­ley Foot­ball Club’s top hon­our on Fri­day night.

Bar­low polled 59 votes to fin­ish ahead of Cats cap­tain and this year’s O’Dwyer medal­list Ned Mor­ri­son (47 votes) in the Fin­ley best and fairest count.

It was on­baller Mor­ri­son who claimed the O’Dwyer Medal with 25 votes from Bar­low (23 votes) a lit­tle over a month ago.

On­baller Tim Mcken­zie and Fin­ley’s 2014 win­ner Jor­dan Daniel fin­ished equal third in the Cats’ count.

But it was the former Syd­ney Swan who was the toast of the night, se­cur­ing the Cats’ best and fairest with two games left to be counted.

‘‘This has by far been my most en­joy­able year of footy,’’ Bar­low said af­ter ac­cept­ing the award.

‘‘I would like to give a spe­cial men­tion to Ned (Mor­ri­son) and all of my team­mates as well. Without all of you I wouldn’t have en­joyed my year as much and I def­i­nitely wouldn’t have won this hon­our.’’

It wasn’t the only award for Bar­low on the night with the mid­fielder / key for­ward win­ning the lead­ing goal­kick­ing tro­phy with 49 goals in his first year at the club.

‘‘It’s been a re­ally im­pres­sive year by Ed con­sid­er­ing we played him out of po­si­tion re­ally,’’ Fin­ley coach Rob Daniel said.

‘‘We were forced to play him for­ward and he made him­self a pres­ence there.

‘‘It was re­ally good to see him win it and you could tell he was gen­uinely happy to win it.

‘‘He was awe­some this year, and without him we may not have made it as far as we did.’’

In other se­nior foot­ball awards, Jor­dan Daniel was named most con­sis­tent and Cameron Robert­son most coura­geous.

Mid­field­ers Shaun Kable and Lachy Small were awarded the most im­proved and coach’s award re­spec­tively.

It was a suc­cess­ful year for the Fin­ley se­niors, who claimed the mi­nor pre­mier­ship be­fore be­ing beaten by Nathalia in a thrilling Mur­ray League grand fi­nal.

In the re­serves, club veteran Doug McLean was a pop­u­lar best and fairest win­ner. Run­ner-up was Nathan McLel­land.

Ed Bar­low.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.