High achiev­ers

Southern Riverina news - - NEWS -

Emma Alexan­der was awarded the pres­ti­gious hon­our of 2018 Dux at Fin­ley High School’s pre­sen­ta­tion night last month.

Emma was pre­sented the award at the FHS hall, where she was joined by fel­low school peers to cel­e­brate a suc­cess­ful 2018.

The hall was packed with par­ents, friends, com­mu­nity rep­re­sen­ta­tives, lo­cal prin­ci­pals and award re­cip­i­ents.

In an ac­cep­tance speech she spoke about her fond mem­o­ries of Fin­ley High School, her teach­ers and plans for univer­sity.

She il­lus­trated the fact that suc­cess and ac­com­plish­ment can be achieved in small ru­ral high schools like Fin­ley, of which she is very proud.

In his first pre­sen­ta­tion night speech as prin­ci­pal, Jeff Ward said it had been an ex­cit­ing fourth term for the school and in his case an ex­cit­ing first term dur­ing his ten­ure in the role.

‘‘When I left the district 31 years ago, to travel and seek ad­ven­ture, I could never fathom that I would re­turn to be­come the prin­ci­pal of Fin­ley High School,’’ he said.

‘‘For me it demon­strates to our youth that any­thing is pos­si­ble and to never un­der­es­ti­mate what can be achieved with hard work and ded­i­ca­tion.

‘‘When com­ing to work in a school that is so strongly fo­cused on im­prov­ing over­all achieve­ment and well­be­ing, it is im­pos­si­ble not to smile.

‘‘I wish to thank the en­tire Fin­ley High School com­mu­nity for mak­ing my first term so en­joy­able.

‘‘I am very ex­cited about the fu­ture at this great school, and so very thank­ful for the op­por­tu­nity to serve this com­mu­nity.’’

The evening was hosted by the 2019 school cap­tains Emma Carey and Ri­ley Demp­ster.

Pro­ceed­ings started with an ac­knowl­edge­ment of coun­try, given by Indige­nous Cul­tural Award win­ner An­drew Neessen, fol­lowed by the na­tional an­them, sung by Tayla Adams and Sarah Orro.

Mu­si­cal items were per­formed by Is­abella Jack­son, Thomas Apps and Sarah Otto be­fore the pre­sen­ta­tion of awards.

A proud tra­di­tion of out­stand­ing achieve­ments in sport, academia and school and com­mu­nity ser­vice was con­tin­ued with stu­dents in full school uni­form proudly be­ing ac­knowl­edged for their ef­forts and high achieve­ments through­out 2018.

Ma­jor award win­ners from the pre­sen­ta­tion night were as fol­lows: Best All-Round Sportsper­son: Lily Sharp. Best Over­all Achieve­ment: Year 7 - Larshya Sutharsamo­han; Year 8 - Shae Fen­nell; Year 9 - Sascha Jones; Year 10 - Ni­amh Ma­son and Clay Webb; Year 11 - Ben Ash­ley- Cooper; Year 12 - Darcy Webb.

Lara Willem­sen and Charl­ton Bax­ter will be school cap­tains and twins Jes­sica and Lach­lan O’Dwyer were named the vice­cap­tains.

The school also re­cently held its an­nual pre­sen­ta­tion night at the end of the school year.

More than 200 peo­ple at­tended the cel­e­bra­tion of all stu­dents’ achieve­ments.

The night was so big the school hall was filled and the crowd spilled out on the lawns to watch pro­ceed­ings.

The out­go­ing school lead­ers — cap­tains Amelia Packer and Jye Litch­field and vice­cap­tains Tess Mid­dle­ton and Caleb Thorn­ton — hosted the evening and did an ex­cel­lent job of keep­ing things on track.

Jye showed that he is a school cap­tain who leads by ex­am­ple, be­ing named the BPS Dux for 2018.

It was re­ported that all stu­dents sang beau­ti­fully and their be­hav­iour was ‘‘awe­some’’.

All kinder­garten stu­dents re­ceived a book to cel­e­brate their first year at school be­fore the spe­cial awards for aca­demic achieve­ment were pre­sented.

Af­ter the pre­sen­ta­tion of the 2018 awards a sup­per was en­joyed by all to con­clude the evening.

Ma­jor awards win­ners on the night were as fol­lows:

Lead­er­ship Award - Amelia Packer; All Rounders Award - Caleb Thorn­ton; Sportsper­son Award - Xavier Fox; Ju­nior Cit­i­zen­ship - Tay­lor Thorn­ton.

Class Books awards:Year 1 - So­phie Bax­ter, Nar­lou Healy-Mavridis; Year 2 - Sa­tiva Mor­gan, Jack Smith; Year 3 - Mad­die Rice, Rosie Phillips; Year 4 - Lo­gan Agnew, Michael Sharp-Shor­ney; Year 5 - Lara Willem­sen, Jes­sica O’Dwyer; Year 6 - Molly Rice, Tess Mid­dle­ton.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.