Marty’s medal mas­tery

Southern Riverina news - - SPORT -

Fin­ley Marty Pig­gin swung his way to the March Monthly Medal win on Satur­day.

With a marked change in the weather the C & J McNa­mara stroke event Pig­gin handled the con­di­tions well, and af­ter count­back at 71 net claimed the Men’s Di­vi­sion One Tro­phy along with the medal.

Paul Pin­nuck’s 80 off the stick gave him the Scratch Medal and his 71 net the Cock of the Walk Ti­tle.

Bill Mansell with 75 net took out men’s Di­vi­sion Two and NTP on the 18th.

It was Tina Bell with 75 net who took out the ladies event and picked up both the Scratch and Net Medals.

The Ladies Putting Tro­phy went to Julie O’Brien with 25 putts.

Balls com­pe­ti­tion win­ners were Paul Pin­nuck (71), Leo McNa­mara (73), Sel Cor­co­ran (74), Grant Shaw (75), Trevor McCaw (75), Kath Klemke (77) and Mary Polk­inghorne (80). Rand Wil­son picked up the day’s NAGA Tro­phy.

Leo McNa­mara with 34 stable­ford points col­lected the Ba­rooga Spor­ties voucher for the men’s Wed­nes­day com­pe­ti­tion. NTP on the 18th went beg­ging.

Ball com­pe­ti­tion win­ners were Rob Klemke (32) and Bill Judd and Grant Wil­son, who each had 31 points.

The Matt Daniel Plumb­ing NAGA Tro­phy went to Beau Makkinga.

Bill Judd with 24 stable­ford points stepped up as win­ner of the Thurs­day nine hole com­pe­ti­tion.

Ball com­pe­ti­tion win­ners were Mick Taylor (23), along with Barry Fa­hey, Marty Pig­gin and Peter Orro all with 19 points.

In im­proved con­di­tions on Sun­day the Sig­nal En­ergy stable­ford med­ley event was played.

Leo McNa­mara, af­ter count­back, with 35 points picked up the tro­phy.

Marty Pig­gin took NTP on the 18th.

Ball com­pe­ti­tion win­ners were Marty Pig­gin (35), Paul Pin­nuck (34), Barry Fa­hey (33) and Paul Beaver (31). Ber­ri­gan Satur­day’s win­ner was Matthew Whe­lan with 46-11.5-34.5 while Joe Ni­cholls was run­ner-up with 46-10.5-35.5. Putting was won by Kura Gold­smith with 13 putts.

Sun­day was stable­ford and again Matthew Whe­lan was the win­ner with 39 points. Run­ner-up was Wayne Crew with 37 points.

Ball win­ners were Joe Ni­cholls (36) and Neil Gra­ham (35).

Next week­end Open Tour­na­ment.

Satur­day will be the mixed with tee off be­ing at 12 noon. Sun­day is the Men’s Open with tee-off be­ing 10am.

The com­mit­tee look for­ward to see­ing as many golfers as pos­si­ble to sup­port this event.

Tocumwal Satur­day saw ladies Di­vi­sion One go­ing to Leanne Marshall with 37 points fol­lowed by Mar­garet Var­ley who had 34.

Di­vi­sion Two went to Anne Brown with 36 points with run­ner-up El­iz­a­beth Muir on 31.

NTPs went to Jo Boake 2nd, Leanne Marshall 18th.

Men’s Di­vi­sion One was won by Mal­colm McKenna with 37 points fol­lowed by Lyn­don Bai­ley 35.

Di­vi­sion Two went to Mike Sher­lock 38 points while Philip Cheesewright was close be­hind with 37.

Neville ‘Nifty’ At­trill was the Di­vi­sion Three win­ner with 37 points. Run­ner-up was Bill Brady 34.

Men’s Gold went to Alan Penny on 33 points.

Nine ladies played stable­ford on Sun­day with Lindy Cooper the win­ner with 36 points, ahead of He­len Crilly on 33. NTP was Pe­tra Wil­mot. The day also saw 52 men play­ing stable­ford with Di­vi­sion One go­ing to Stephen Naughton with 37 points, fol­lowed by Adam Pur­till 36.

Di­vi­sion Two was won by Phillip Tri­bo­let on 39 and is the run­ner-up Keen 35.

Neville At­trill again won Di­vi­sion Three, this time af­ter a count­back from Leonard Red­fern, with both golfers scor­ing 31 points.

NTPs went to Ja­son Kerr 2nd, Brent Huckel 17th.

Men’s Gold Win­ner was Graeme Sharp with 41 points, fol­lowed by Douglas McCel­land 37.

Left Handed Golfers Rive­rina Di­vi­sion of Na­tional As­so­ci­a­tion of Left Handed Golfers played their sec­ond event of 2019 at Tocumwal Golf and Bowls Club on Sun­day.

A field of 32 play­ers took part in the stable­ford event played in per­fect weather con­di­tions on a beau­ti­fully pre­sented golf course.

Many thanks to Tocumwal Golf and Bowls Club for be­ing the host club for this event.

The men’s win­ners were John Simm (Toc.) 37 points; run­ner-up Jon Milovitch (Co­bram-Ba­rooga) 36.

Ball win­ners - Al­bert Adams (Toc.), Joe Sacco (Toc.) and Col Holdsworth (Toc.) 33 points.

The ladies win­ner was Julie Penny (Toc.) 33 points.

The right-handed play­ers (friends of the left­ies) win­ners were Joshua Smith (Grif­fith) 45 points; run­nerup Trevor Lan­caster (Wodonga) 38.

NTP Gren Bur­ton (Man­dalay) 18th; ladies Gale Ty­ers (Toc.) 2nd.

The out­stand­ing score of the day came from young Grif­fith player Joshua Smith with 45 points, play­ing only his third com­pe­ti­tion round of golf, af­ter be­ing in­spired to take up the game by his left handed grand fa­ther Robin Salve­stro.

Rive­rina Di­vi­sion of NALG will play the first round of 2019 Cham­pi­onships at Co­bram-Ba­rooga Golf Club, hit­ting off at 9am on Sun­day, May 5.

Make sure you en­ter and have your chance to win the Rive­rina Cham­pi­onship.

All left handed golfers are en­cour­aged to join our great or­gan­i­sa­tion and join in the fun, golf and friend­ship.

For any en­quiries, contact pres­i­dent Col Holdsworth 0418 328 963. was Michael

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.