Southern Riverina news

Home team shines in SR Vets


Southern Riverina Veterans

The Southern Riverina Veterans Golf Associatio­n’s August Competitio­n Day was held on the Lakes Course at the Yarrawonga Mulwala Golf Club/Cobram Barooga Golf Club on Monday, with 90 golfers taking part.

The Yarrawonga Mulwala golfers made their presence felt by collecting most of the trophies on the day.

To top it off, John Burrows carded 42 Stableford points to take out the Stan Clark Trophy, to couple with his B-grade win.

Stableford was played and David Wilson (Cobram) on 39 points took the A-grade trophy, with Rod Harris (Yarrawonga) runner up with 38.

Runner up to Burrows in B-grade was Garry Baldwin (Cobram) on 40.

Brendan O’Farrell (Yarrawonga), after countback with 34 points, took C-grade from Ed Gertners (Yarrawonga). He also had 34 points.

NTPs: 2nd — Steve Ambrose (Yarrawonga); 7th — Peter Taylor (Yarrawonga); 12th — Peter Quirk (Tocumwal); 14th — Kevin Tengstrom (Finley).

Steven Boyer from Yarrawonga was awarded the NSWVGA Grassroots player award.

Ball competitio­n winners were players with 29 points or better.


Wednesday’s Ladies Monthly Medal was sponsored by Outdoor and More.

Janet Delmenico was the winner with a 94/24/70, which also gave her the nett medal.

Ball winner was Beth White 98/35/73, and the putting was won by Helen Wastle with 27 putts. Wastle also claimed the scratch medal with 93. Wednesday's men's stableford winner was Grant Wilson with 36 points.

Ball winners were Rand Wilson and John Taylor on 35 points, Anthony Kable with 34, Colin

McNamara with 33 c/b. No NTPs were awarded. Simon Fuller collected the Pro Pin on the 6th. Saturday was men's and ladies stroke, sponsored by Finley Pilates and Clinical Myotherapy.

The ladies winner was Helen Wastle with 89/17/72. She also won the putting with 27 putts. Ball winner was Sue Simpson with 96/22/74. Men's winner was Rand Wilson on 104/29/75, on a three way countback.

Ball winners were Sam Singleton 85/10/75, Trevor McCaw 82/7/75, Anthony Kable 92/16/76 c/b.

NTP: 18th — Paul Beaver.

Top Gun — Rand Wilson.

Sunday's men's and ladies 2p Ambrose was sponsored by Cobram Toyota.

Ladies winners on a c/b were Helen Wastle and Sue Simpson on 79/10/69.

Ball winners were Kellie White and Sharon Pyle with 77/8/69. Men's winners were Matthew Daniel and Rodger Sutton with 72/6/66, which also booked them a berth in the next stage of the Keno Let’s Play Ambrose in Deniliquin. Ball winners were James Braybon and Robert Singleton with 78/11/67.

NTP: 18th — Colin McNamara.

Pro Pin — Norm Pyle.


Friday's winner was Gail Browne (43-6.5-36.5) and runner-up was K Walliss.

Browne won the putting with 10 putts, and ball winner was Joe Nicholls (49-10-39).

Sunday was stableford.

Winner on a three way countback was Al Arnold with 32 points.

Runner-up was Chris Cameron on 32 points, and ball winner was Dave Midson on 32 points. This Sunday is the annual Townies v Farmers. Tee off is at noon and the competitio­n is ambrose.

Please organise your own partners. Handicap and non handicap are all welcome.

The day is sponsored by Alan Arnold Farming.


Thursday was medley stableford with golfers facing the cold and windy weather. A lot of funny shots were on display, even going backwards.

Winner: Di Mitchell 32; runner up Loretta Lewis 28.

NTP: 16th, sponsored by Laurie Henery — Di Mitchell.

Sunday was medley stableford.

Winner: David Leeds 37 c/b; runner up John Simpson 37.

Ball winners were Carson Thomas (36) and Kath Williams (35 c/b).

The Match Play Championsh­ip is now into the third round.


On Tuesday, July 26, the ladies played Par on the President’s course.

Division 1: Helen Crilly +1, R/U Jo Boake square.

Division 2: Robyn Benbow -2, R/U Robyn Taverna -3.

Gold Division: Mary McMahon 27 points. NTPs: 2nd — Jill Collins, 8th — Patricia Small, 18th — Robyn Taverna.

On Wednesday, July 27, the men played stableford on course three, which is the Captain’s and

President’s back nine from the white tees.

Division 1: Mark O’Brien 40 points, R/U Adam Purtill 38 points, 3rd David Wilson 37 points.

Division 2: John Henry 38 points, R/U Nev Finn 36 points, 3rd Robert Rowe 35 points.

Division 3: Eugene Zolnierczy­k 37 points, R/U Colin Rangitonga 36 points, 3rd John Simm 35 points.

Gold division: Leonard Redfern 34 points. NTPs: 14th Captain’s — Michael Taylor, 17th Captain’s — Michael Cooper, 14th President’s — Adam Purtill, 18th President’s — Michael Taylor.

Saturday was a four person stableford teams event, with the best three scores to count, played on the Captain’s course.

Winners: Margaret Murphy, Jill Collins, Shane Halloran and Murray Chapman, 116 points.

Runners up: Shirley Desailly, Nat Beard, Helen Crilly and Bruce Cavanagh, 108 points.

NTPs: 2nd — William Sullivan, 8th — Helen Crilly & Brett Molnar, 14th — Andrew Morgan, 18th — Sandra Williams & Brett Molnar.

On Sunday the competitio­n was stroke off the white tees.


Division 1: Janyce Brown net 77, R/U Robyn Benbow net 78, 3rd Helen Crilly net 79.


Division: 1 Peter Michaels net 71, R/U Randall Jakeman net 71, 3rd John Crilly net 72.

Division 2: Christophe­r Forster net 71, R/U John Bradbury net 73, 3rd Rod Simm net 73.

Division 3: Kevin Morey net 74, R/U Alan Michalowsk­y net 75, 3rd Bruce Cavanagh net 78. Gold Division: Leonard Redfern net 75. NTPs: 2nd — Robyn Benbow & Michael Millar, 8th — Hugo Jankov, 14th — Stephan Guille, 18th — Philip Cheesewrig­ht.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia