Southern Riverina news

Loretta wins monthly medal



Thursday was the Ladies Monthly Medal, played under wet conditions. The winner was Loretta Lewis with 113/44/69, and runner-up was Felicite Aull on 106/35/71.

Friday saw six ladies - two teams - travel to Cobram for the Riverview Bowl with perfect weather. Unfortunat­ely we had no golf winners, but Di Mitchell and Sara Ham won prizes in the raffle.

Sunday was the Men’s Monthly Medal & Ladies NSW Goodwill Cup.

Winner of the Men’s Monthly Medal was Luke Keating with 87/13/74.

The NSW Women’s Goodwill Cup went to Kath Williams with 93/27/66. This card will now be sent to Golf NSW.

Daily winners: Kath Williams 66, R/U Luke Keating 74 c.b.

Ball winners: Wayne Neilson 74 and Daz Keating 76 c.b.

Putts: Ian Taylor 27 putts.

NTPs: 7th Brett Boland,16th Daz Keating.


On Tuesday, August 9, the ladies played stroke for the Monthly Medal on a bright sunny day.

Division 1: Sharon Pyle net 72, R/U: Robyn Conrick net 73, 3rd Denise Huy net 75, Gross Sharon Pyle 91.

Division 2: Carmel Butcher net 68, R/U Heather Aston net 75, 3rd Jill Loversidge net 76, Gross Carmel Butcher 96.

Gold Division: Mary McLeay 32 points. Monthly Medal winner: Carmel Butcher net 68.

NTP: Michelle Purtill.

Putting: Margaret Murphy 27 putts. Wednesday, August 10, the men played Par off the blue tees on the Captain’s course.

Division 1: John Crilly plus 3, R/U Ben Kerr -1, 3rd Malcolm Hart -2.

Division 2: Bennie Benbow plus 5, R/U Ross Clark plus 4, 3rd Kevin Waller -1.

Division 3: Richard Lavery plus 2, R/U Garry Haberfield plus 1, 3rd Ronald Loversidge square.

Gold Division: Geoffery Jones -2.

NTPs: 2nd Colin Wearne, 8th Phillip Boulton, 14th Ian Cameron, 17th Ben Kerr.

Saturday, August 13, saw the men and ladies play stableford on the Captain’s course.


Division 1: Trisha Suckling 34 points. Men:

Division 1: Brad Lovitt 36 points, R/U Ross Clark 36 points, 3rd Luke Jarjoura 35 points.

Division 2: Heath Attwood 36 points, R/U

Peter Stokes snr 33 points, 3rd Dominic Ciconte 33 points.

Gold Division: Jeffrey Conrad 30 points. NTPs: 2nd Brad Lovitt & Trisha Suckling, 8th Greg Brooks & Cheryl Hart, 14th Malcolm Hart, 17th Jeffrey Conrad & Lindy Cooper.

On Sunday, August 14, the competitio­n of the day was stableford on the President’s course.


Division 1: Sue Lawson 34 points.


Division 1: Darren John 38 points, R/U Colin McNamara 38 points, 3rd John Thompson 36 points.

Division 2: Michael Sherlock 35 points, R/U Terry Stokes 34 points, 3rd Christophe­r Forster 31 points.

Division 3: Bruce Cavanagh 37 points, R/U Volker Stahl 35 points, 3rd Graham Priestly 33 points.

Gold Division: Phillip Lovelace 27 points. NTPs: 2nd Aaron Dale & Sue O’Connor, 8th Brett Molnar, 14th John Crilly, 18th John Thompson.

Get your four person team together for The Scramble, which is on Sunday, August 28.

This is a 11.30am shotgun start with $1,700 in prizes to be won.

Call the Tocumwal Golf Club for more informatio­n, on 5874 9111.


Wednesday's Ladies Club Brooch was sponsored by Bay Laurel, and winner of the day and the club brooch as Janet Delmenico on 98/14/74.

Ball winners were Beth White (101/25/76) and Sue Simpson (100/221/78), and putting went to Beth White with 29 c/b.

The men's Wednesday stableford winner was Martin Cruickshan­k with 37 points.

Ball winners were Leo McNamara (35), Sam Singleton and Rand Wilson (34) and Norm Pyle (33).

NTP: Paul Beaver, Pro Pin 11th Colin McNamara.

Saturday was 2P Stableford addition, sponsored by Southern Riverina News.

Winners were Billy Smith and Martin Piggin on 64 points, runners-up after a five way countback were Paul Pinnuck and Leo McNamara on 60 points.

Ball winners were Helen Wastle and Sue Simpson, and Alan Hand and Rand Wilson on 60 c.b.

NTP: 18th Norm Pyle.

Sunday's event was Mixed 2P Ambrose sponsored by J&H Braybon.

This was also the qualifier for the NSW Let’s Play Ambrose.

Winners of the day were Ian and Karen Litchfield with 86/15/71.

Ball winners were Janet Delmenico and Brett Murphy (82/9/73), Helen Wastle and Martin Piggin (82/8/74 c.b).

NTPs: 13th Karen Litchfield, 18th Brett Murphy.

The PWOP stableford event went to Rand Wilson on 30 points.

Ball winners: Brett Shaw (30), Alan Hand (29).


Friday's winner was Beau Walliss, runner -p was Gail Browne.

Ball winner: Joe Nicholls.

Sunday's winner was Joe Nicholls (93-2073), runner-up was Peter Shand (87-12-75).

Next Sunday will be stableford, all welcome.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia