Peel’s stand-outs awarded

Southern Telegraph - - Telegraph Sport - Nick Cowie

Peel District Cy­cling Club hosted its an­nual awards last Satur­day, with more than 80 awards across time tri­als, cri­teri­ums, road races and five grades.

A num­ber of fa­mil­iar names ap­peared through­out the awards, with Colin Rose win­ning the sum­mer time trial se­ries over­all and the fastest time award.

In the Time­keep­ers Time Trial, Rose had the sec­ond fastest time and won it on stan­dard (aged base time), and came sec­ond over­all in the Hilly Time Trial with the sec­ond fastest time.

Conor Leahy was the fastest rider in the Time­keep­ers Time Trial and took the win and fastest time in the Hilly Time Trial.

Leahy also showed his ver­sa­til­ity, win­ning the A-grade Cri­terium Cham­pi­onship, with un­der-17 rider Oliver Bled­dyn win­ning the B-grade and Luke Colum tak­ing out the C-grade Cri­terium Cham­pi­onship.

Alis­tair Milne won the Lara Devenish Memo­rial Tro­phy for the most com­bat­ive rider dur­ing the last ring round at Smeaton Way in Fe­bru­ary.

Jor­dan Daw­son won the Pres­i­dent’s Cup, with the young­ster also tak­ing out the fastest time award and best un­der-17 rider.

In the Road Race Cham­pi­onships, Theo Yates won the A-grade, with Luke Colum win­ning B-grade and se­cur­ing Road Rider of the Year for his con­sis­tent ef­fort.

Jay Lin­dorff won in C-grade, was sec­ond in the Road Rider of the Year and took out the un­der-17 Road Rider award.

The sum­mer rac­ing se­ries starts with the Rock­ing­ham Beach Cup Golden Cup this Satur­day, be­fore the Time Trial se­ries kicks off on Novem­ber 19.

Alis­tair Milne re­ceives the Lara Devenish Memo­rial Tro­phy from Phil Devenish.

Pictures: Nick Cowie

Luke Colum with his Road Rider of the Year and B-grade Road Race and C-grade Cri­terium Cham­pion tro­phies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.