The Courier-Mail



May, 2008: Liberal, National parties vote to merge after 10 years in Opposition July, 2008: LNP is formed with Nationals MP Lawrence Springborg elected founding leader Election 2009 : Merged parties record a 3.7 per cent swing to pick up 11 new seats, however Anna Bligh’s Labor wins comfortabl­y March, 2009: Following the loss, John-Paul Langbroek defeats Mr Springborg and Fiona Simpson in a secret ballot to become leader March, 2011: Brisbane lord mayor Campbell Newman shocks the state by revealing he’ll seek preselecti­on for Kate Jones’ safe-Labor seat of Ashgrove, and then the LNP leadership April, 2011: Newman wins preselecti­on, prompting Langbroek and Springborg to resign the leadership Election 2012: Labor is obliterate­d as Newman leads the LNP to a massive victory, winning 78 seats to Labor’s seven. It’s the first time the merged LNP wins government 2012- 2015: The Newman government introduces widespread reform, but its move to sack 14,000 public servants while picking unpopular fights with doctors and the judicial system causes ructions. Two crushing byelection defeats ensured a tight 2015 state election would follow Election 2015: The LNP is booted from office, losing 33 seats, including Mr Newman in Ashgrove. Annastacia Palaszczuk’s Labor forms minority government as Mr Newman declares his political career “over” January, 2015: Former leader Lawrence Springborg is reinstated to rebuild the party while John-Paul Langbroek is elected deputy May, 2016: Mr Springborg calls an LNP leadership spill after months of leadership speculatio­n. Mr Newman’s former Treasurer Tim Nicholls narrowly wins, with Deb Frecklingt­on elected deputy Election 2017: Mr Nicholls leads the party to a loss against Ms Palaszczuk, losing three seats before announcing he’ll stand down December, 2017: Ms Frecklingt­on is elected the state’s first non-Labor female leader Election 2020: Ms Palaszczuk extends her governing margin on the back of her COVID-19 health response. Ms Frecklingt­on insists she will stay as leader, but quits a day later November, 2020: Former Newman government minister David Crisafulli is elected LNP leader. He’s considered the best chance to defeat Labor

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia