At home Time for rem­i­nisc­ing with singer Glenn Shor­rock

This well-trav­elled Aus­tralian rock leg­end is ready to smell the roses

The Daily Telegraph (Sydney) - Home - - FRONT PAGE - Words Cather­ine Nikas-Bou­los Pic­tures Tim Hunter More Now, Where Was I? New Hol­land Pub­lish­ers, $35, newhol­land­pub­lish­

Hav­ing just re­leased his au­to­bi­og­ra­phy, Glenn Shor­rock, one of Aus­tralia’s most fa­mous rock­ers, still wakes in the mid­dle of the night think­ing of sto­ries he should have in­cluded in his book Now, Where Was I?

“Maybe there will be a se­quel. I hope peo­ple en­joy it as much as they have en­joyed the mu­sic,” he says. “I’m so lucky to have had pretty good suc­cess from a teenager to now.”

Span­ning a ca­reer of more than 50 years, Glenn’s book re­calls the he­do­nis­tic days of the 1960s and rock­et­ing to in­ter­na­tional fame in the 1970s and ’80s with the Lit­tle River Band.

“That part of my life was non-stop,” he says. “I’d tour for months on end and I am grate­ful that mu­sic has taken me around the world, but it has ce­mented my love for do­mes­tic life.”

Glenn and his wife Jo live in an apart­ment in a con­verted Na­tional Trust build­ing over­look­ing Sydney Har­bour.

“I have al­ways lived in ar­chi­tec­tural build­ings,” he says. “I bought a Fed­er­a­tion house in Mel­bourne, then when I moved to Sydney in the 1980s I lived in a Vic­to­rian ‘sky­scraper’ in Birch­grove with lots of stairs for 20 years — un­til the stairs started play­ing havoc with my knees.”

To­day, Glenn is happy to watch the ships go by from his ve­randa in Dou­ble Bay, and spend­ing time with his wife Jo and his mother who is 98 years old.

“I dab­bled in boat­ing in the past, but now I have gone back to hav­ing friends with boats, which is much bet­ter,” he says

Now they are “free and easy to do what we want”, and in­stead of trav­el­ling for work, he is look­ing for­ward to trav­el­ling for plea­sure.

“It’s time to smell the roses.”

Who Glenn Shor­rockWhere Dou­ble Bay with his wife JoFavourite thing Bella is an eight-year-old schnau­zer we in­her­ited from a friend's mother who was too old to take care of her. We took her on about five years ago and she rules our life, as an­i­mals doIn­spi­ra­tion Jo has a good eye, so I leave the de­sign part to herHome is This is where I can get away from show­biz. I am a Can­cer star sign so be­ing on the road is great, but I pre­fer to nest at home

Acous­tic Martin gui­tar I don’t play gui­tar as a per­former — there are lots of bet­ter play­ers than me and I am a good del­e­ga­tor — but I use this gui­tar as part of my song­writ­ing process.

Yamaha baby grand piano My wife bought this. I wrote Cool Change on it and a few other songs. I don’t have a sep­a­rate stu­dio — I en­joy play­ing the piano in the liv­ing room.

Paul Smith hat I have been a hat man ever since I started los­ing my hair, which is a long time ago now, and I wear them on stage. I have quite a few hats but this is one of my favourites.

iPad I’ve al­ways loved tech­nol­ogy go­ing way back to the black and white Ap­ple Mac­in­tosh. I have a MacBook in my of­fice and I al­ways travel with my iPad. It’s like the Porsche of com­put­ers.

Zeiss binoc­u­lars Jo’s fa­ther left me th­ese in his will. I con­sider my­self an un­of­fi­cial har­bour mas­ter. Th­ese are old and have a big old dent in them, but they have the best lens.

Py­ja­mas They are my favourite thing to wear. I put them on when I get up in the morn­ing and take them off again when I go to sleep. I use them as day pants.

Brus­sels sprouts I could do with­out the sweet stuff, but I couldn’t do with­out th­ese won­der­ful balls of vi­ta­mins. I grew up on meat and three veg.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.