The Free Press (Corowa)

$4,000 to RSL and Police Legacy


Rutherglen RSL Sub-Branch Legacy Golf Day was different this year following the disgracefu­l and tragic running down of four police officers in Melbourne last year.

“After the four police officers were killed on the Eastern Freeway we were asked if Victoria Police Legacy wanted to be involved and share the profits of the RSL Sub-Branch’s Legacy Golf Day,” Rutherglen Police Sergeant Brian Curran told The Free Press.

“It was a wonderful gesture by the RSL SubBranch. We thank them very much for giving us half of the money raised. It’s certainly going to a good cause.

“We had great support for our golf day.” Ninety golfers from far and wide took to the Rutherglen Golf Course on March 28, including golfers from Melbourne and Omeo who took to the sandscrape­s of the lush green course specifical­ly for the cause.

With community donations, raffles and the golf day, a total of $8,000 resulted, with $4,000 each for RSL Legacy and Victoria Police Legacy.

RSL Sub-Branch welfare advocate Peter Graham OAM was thrilled with the community support and the golfing fraternity for supporting the cause.

“What it shows is that you don’t have to be in the Defence Force to face dangers on behalf of the community,” he said.

“Regardless of the organisati­ons – SES, CFA volunteers or whoever – these people work hard to protect our safety.

“To see the RSL Sub-Branch and the Police come together and produce this result is very pleasing.”

Mr Graham said Rutherglen RSL SubBranch is one of the longest living Legacy fundraiser­s, totalling over sixty years.

“For the last four or five years we’ve raised about $5,000 for Legacy,” he said. “This year we’ve raised $8,000 and presented two cheques of $4,000 for Legacy and Victorian Police.”

It has been agreed that the last weekend in March 2022 will again be set aside for a joint approach by the two wonderful Legacy-related organisati­ons.

Results for the RSL and Police Legacy day Sunday 29th March

Winners of HCP - Graig Scown, Luke Hawking & Brian Grigg.

Ladies winners - Annie Sinclair, Carol Fursdon & Robyn Davies.

Mixed winners - Rhonda Boxall, Michael Romero & Adam Nikolic

Runners Up - Dianne Bloom, Carter Bloom (Omeo Police) & David Young (Wodonga Police)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia