Coun­cil­lors get down to work

The Gazette (Derwent Valley) - - NEWS - DAMIAN BESTER

SOME coun­cil­lors will be busier than oth­ers over the next four years, fol­low­ing the dis­tri­bu­tion of com­mit­tee re­spon­si­bil­i­ties at last week’s Der­went Val­ley Coun­cil meet­ing.

Dis­tri­bu­tion of the com­mit­tee and statu­tory roles is gen­er­ally one of the first items of busi­ness dealt with by a new coun­cil and the task took up just un­der 20 min­utes at Thurs­day’s coun­cil meet­ing.

Re­turn­ing coun­cil­lor Julie Trif­fett has 10 com­mit­tees and new mayor Ben Shaw has seven, and be­tween them they ac­count for more than half of the com­mit­tees and out­side or­gan­i­sa­tions al­lo­cated to coun­cil­lors.

New coun­cil­lor Luke Brown­ing looks to have the light­est work­load, hav­ing been ap­pointed to only two com­mit­tees. Re­turn­ing coun­cil­lors Paul Belcher and Mar­tyn Evans, and new­com­ers Rachel Power and Jes­sica Cos­grove, have three each. Re­turn­ing coun­cil­lor Anne Salt has four.

The num­ber of com­mit­tees, joint au­thor­i­ties and statu­tory bod­ies with coun­cil­lor rep­re­sen­ta­tives was cut from the 40 of the old coun­cil to 27 for the new coun­cil.

One of the cut com­mit­tees was the Der­went Val­ley Coun­cil Schol­ar­ship Trust Fund, which Cr Shaw said was to be wound up and re­assessed.

Also gone are the Glee­son Park Spe­cial Com­mit­tee (Lach­lan), the Wil­liam Ha­zle­wood Re­serve Spe­cial Com­mit­tee (Ma­gra), the Wil­low Court Con­ser­va­tion Spe­cial Com­mit­tee and the Der­went Val­ley Sport and Re­cre­ation Com­mit­tee, as well as the coun­cil’s Land Sale Com­mit­tee.

The En­vi­ron­men­tal Man­age­ment Com­mit­tee re­mains, de­spite not hav­ing met for about 10 years.

Coun­cil­lor par­tic­i­pa­tion was also culled from a raft of work­ing groups in­clud­ing Re­lay for Life, Com­mu­nity Road Safety Part­ner­ship, Plenty Val­ley Link Road, Ed­u­ca­tion Precinct, Tree2Sea and the RAFT (Real Ac­tion Fu­ture Think­ing) group.

The divi­sion of re­spon­si­bil­i­ties be­tween coun­cil­lors was the long­est dis­cus­sion of Thurs­day night’s meet­ing. The dis­tri­bu­tion was as fol­lows — Cr JULIE TRIF­FETT: Ac­cess Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee; En­vi­ron­men­tal Man­age­ment Com­mit­tee; His­tor­i­cal In­for­ma­tion Cen­tre; New Nor­folk Swim­ming Pool; Tidy Towns Com­mit­tee; Tyn­wald Park De­vel­op­ment Com­mit­tee; South­ern Waste Strat­egy Author­ity; Aus­tralia Day; Com­mu­nity Grants; Visi­tor In­for­ma­tion Cen­tre; and four proxy roles. Cr BEN SHAW: Eco­nomic De­vel­op­ment and Growth Com­mit­tee; Molesworth Re­cre­ation Re­serve; Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment As­so­ci­a­tion; South­ern Tas­ma­nian Coun­cils Author­ity; TasWater; Aus­tralia Day; Com­mu­nity Grants; and six proxy roles. Cr ANNE SALT: Der­went Val­ley Youth Fu­ture Ac­tion Team; Eco­nomic De­vel­op­ment and Growth Com­mit­tee; New Nor­folk Busi­ness Al­liance; Au­dit Panel; and two proxy roles. Cr JES­SICA COS­GROVE: South­ern Tas­ma­nian Coun­cils Author­ity; Aus­tralia Day; Emer­gency Plan­ning Com­mit­tee; and four proxy roles. Cr RACHEL POWER: Friends of Frescati; Friends of Wil­low Court; May­dena Com­mu­nity As­so­ci­a­tion; and five proxy roles. Cr PAUL BELCHER: Bushy Park Swim­ming Pool; Com­mu­nity Grants; Au­tumn Fes­ti­val; and one proxy role. Cr MAR­TYN EVANS: Boyer Oval Man­age­ment Com­mit­tee; Der­went Catch­ment Project; Der­went Es­tu­ary Pro­gram; and two proxy roles. Cr LUKE BROWN­ING: Com­mu­nity Grants; Au­dit Panel; and one proxy role.

Cr Shaw also an­nounced to the meet­ing that the South­ern Tas­ma­nian Coun­cils Author­ity had se­lected Cr Power as the lo­cal gov­ern­ment rep­re­sen­ta­tive on the board of the Desti­na­tion South­ern Tas­ma­nia tourism body.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.