The Shed

Judging panel confirmed for 2016 Sigma D-Photo Amateur Photograph­er of the Year


The annual Sigma D-Photo Amateur Photograph­er of the Year competitio­n, presented by our sister publicatio­n D-Photo, has closed for entries, and the judging is now under way. Confirmed to be on the judging panel this year are D-Photo and The Photograph­er’s Mail columnists Mareea Vegas, Peter Bush, Hans Weichselba­um, Kaye Davis, and Brett Stanley. Also joining the judging panel this year are NZIPP representa­tive Melissa Waite, PSNZ representa­tive Shona Kebble, and AIPA representa­tive Garth Badger.

The 2016 competitio­n featured two brand-new categories — Aerial, sponsored by DJI Drones, and Macro, sponsored by Tamron Lenses — and also featured the much-loved categories of Creative, sponsored by White Studios; Junior, sponsored by the Universal College of Learning ( UCOL); Landscape, sponsored by Progear; Monochrome, sponsored by Ilford Paper; Nature, sponsored by Vanguard; People, sponsored by Profoto; and Travel, sponsored by Nikon. There was also a Readers’ Choice, in which the public could vote for their favourite images within each category, which the photograph — from all the categories — that has received the most votes will win.

The prize pool for this year’s competitio­n hit a total of more than $16K, with the overall winner to receive a Sigma lens kit worth up to $4K. You can find the full list of prizes for each category outlined at

To find out the winners of each category of the 2016 competitio­n, you’ll need to pick up D-Photo Issue No. 73 when it appears in stores from July 11. For further informatio­n on the competitio­n, or to see the gallery of entries, visit

 ??  ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia