Mark Wadding­ton takes out New Zealand’s largest am­a­teur pho­tog­ra­phy comp

The Shed - - News -

Our sis­ter publi­ca­tion D-Photo re­cently an­nounced the win­ners of its an­nual Sigma D-Photo Am­a­teur Pho­tog­ra­pher of the Year com­pe­ti­tion. A mas­sive 5373 images were en­tered across the nine cat­e­gories that the com­pe­ti­tion fea­tured this year, and the to­tal prize pool was val­ued at over $16K — a record. This year’s over­all win­ner was Mark Wadding­ton, with his Aerial en­try (shown above).

The cat­e­gory win­ners are de­tailed fol­low­ing.

Aerial cat­e­gory (spon­sored by DJI Drones):

• First: Mark Wadding­ton

• Se­cond: Su­san Blick

• Third: David Bowie

Cre­ative cat­e­gory (spon­sored by White Stu­dios):

• First: David Steer

• Se­cond: John Melville

• Third: Lo­gan Her­manns

Ju­nior cat­e­gory (spon­sored by UCOL):

• First: Yuto Mat­suda

• Se­cond: Ivan Steenkamp

• Third: Yuto Mat­suda

Land­scape cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Pro­gear):

• First: Kane Har­till

• Se­cond: Ni­cola Pye

• Third: Rowena Richards

Macro cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Tam­ron):

• First: Chris Hel­li­well

• Se­cond: Roy Cer­nohorsky

• Third: Rox­anne Craw­ford

Mono­chrome cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Il­ford Pa­pers):

• First: Louise Sav­age

• Se­cond: Roy Cer­nohorsky

• Third: Matt Cor­bett

Na­ture cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Van­guard):

• First: Rob Lynch

• Se­cond: Edin White­head

• Third: Sam Wales Peo­ple cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Pro­foto):

• First: Kim Fal­coner

• Se­cond: Craig Pow­ley

• Third: Abe Mora

Travel cat­e­gory (spon­sored by Nikon):

• First: Shel­ley Ec­cle­ton

• Se­cond: Martin Kohn

• Third: Tony White­head

A new Read­ers Choice cat­e­gory was in­tro­duced this year, with those who vis­ited the cat­e­gory gal­leries able to vote for their favourite images. The win­ner of this year’s Read­ers Choice award was Den­nis Brown, with Rory Gan­n­away in se­cond place and Ocean Belcher in third.

Mark Wadding­ton, Aerial cat­e­gory win­ner, 2016 Sigma D-Photo Am­a­teur Pho­tog­ra­pher of the Year

Kim Fal­coner, Peo­ple cat­e­gory win­ner

Shel­ley Ec­cle­ton, Travel cat­e­gory win­ner

David Steer, Cre­ative cat­e­gory win­ner

Chris Hel­li­well, Macro cat­e­gory win­ner

Roby Lynch, Na­ture cat­e­gory win­ner

Yuto Mat­suda, Ju­nior cat­e­gory win­ner

Kane Har­till, Land­scape cat­e­gory win­ner

Louise Sav­age, Mono­chrome cat­e­gory win­ner

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.