THE BIG O'S 15 to 1

The Sunday Telegraph (Sydney) - - SPORT -

Count­ing down rugby league’s great­est club sides since 1970:

15. ST GE­ORGE 1979: Af­ter win­ning the pre­mier­ship two years ear­lier, Bath’s Babes, cap­tained by 23-yearold Craig Young, ruled supreme, drop­ping just five matches.

14. CAN­TER­BURY 1984: No longer the En­ter­tain­ers, the Dogs of War ended three years of Eels dom­i­na­tion. 13. MANLY 1987: Fin­ished the reg­u­lar sea­son on 41 points with a star-stud­ded line-up, cap­tained by Fatty Vautin, that in­cluded Lyons, Hasler, O’Con­nor (above), Cleal and Ward.

12. ST GE­ORGE 2010: Broke a 31year drought with a side that con­tained 12 in­ter­na­tion­als, thrash­ing the Roosters 32-8 in the grand fi­nal.

11. ROOSTERS 2013: With new re­cruits Sonny Bill Wil­liams, James Maloney and Michael Jen­nings in ca­reer-best form, they over­came a great Manly side.

10. MANLY 1978: Any side that can win a pre­mier­ship, hav­ing played five fi­nals matches in 17 days, de­serves to be in this con­ver­sa­tion.

9. MANLY 1996: It was a golden era for the Eagles dur­ing the mid90s, play­ing in three con­sec­u­tive grand fi­nals and win­ning the ti­tle in a 20-team competitio­n.

8. PAR­RA­MATTA 1982: A world­class back­line in­clud­ing Ster­ling, Kenny, Cronin, Ella and Grothe and a de­cent pack led by Ray Price won the mi­nor pre­mier­ship by eight points.

7. BRIS­BANE 1992: Their in­au­gu­ral pre­mier­ship-win­ning side, cap­tained by Al­fie, was blessed with size, skill and power. They oblit­er­ated St Ge­orge in the grand fi­nal.

6. SOUTHS 1970: Had one of the great for­ward packs I’ve seen, with Coote, McCarthy, Sat­tler and Lurch O’Neill at the peak of their powers.

5. MEL­BOURNE 2017: This s was as the t e Storm’s most po­tent le­gal gal line-up in their short his­tory, with the big three of Smith, Slater (above) and Cronk in im­pe­ri­ous form.

4. ROOSTERS 2019: The first team to go back to back in 26 years had ar­guably the great­est back­line in NRL his­tory com­ple­mented with a brick-wall de­fence.

3. EASTS 1975: Led by Arthur Beet­son, they won a record 19 con­sec­u­tive matches dur­ing the year, rout­ing St Ge­orge 38-0 in the grand fi­nal.

2. CAN­BERRA 1994: The last Raiders side to win a ti­tle av­er­aged more than 30 points a match be­fore over­whelm­ing Can­ter­bury in the grand fi­nal.

1. BRIS­BANE 1998: Queens­land won the Ori­gin se­ries but it may as well have been this Bron­cos side. They scored a phe­nom­e­nal 22 tries in three fi­nals matches to win the ti­tle.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.