Saints to cel­e­brate Bombers hat-trick

The Weekly Advertiser Horsham - - Sport -

Eden­hope’s halcyon foot­ball era of the 1980s will be the sub­ject of a 30-year premier­ship re­union at Eden­hope on May 27.

Eden­hope-ap­s­ley Foot­ball Net­ball Club is sup­port­ing the day, which cel­e­brates se­nior Kowreenara­coorte league pre­mier­ships in 1986, ’87 and ’88, a re­serves 1987 ti­tle and un­der-14 flag in 1988.

It is also cel­e­brat­ing the club’s 1988 A and E grade net­ball pre­mier­ships.

The club is invit­ing all past play­ers, of­fi­cials and sup­port­ers to join cel­e­bra­tions, which will in­clude a Hor­sham Dis­trict league match against La­harum at Eden­hope.

Cel­e­bra­tions will start about 11.30am at Eden­hope clu­b­rooms with an of­fi­cial wel­come be­fore in­ter­views and vi­sions of games and so­cial events of the era.

Eden­hope-ap­s­ley play­ers will wear the tra­di­tional Eden­hope Bomber guernsey with the names of se­nior premier­ship play­ers in the sash. Jumpers will then be auc­tioned later that night.

Or­gan­is­ers have also urged any­one with mem­o­ra­bilia from that time to get in con­tact with Chris Ryan, Jo Campbell, Fiona Mul­raney or Carolyn Mid­dle­ton.

The mid-1980s was a highly suc­cess­ful era for the Eden­hope club. It started with a 1986 premier­ship when coach Carl Robert­son led the team, iron­i­cally, to vic­tory over later merger part­ner Ap­s­ley. David Mcdon­ald also won the league’s un­der-17 best and fairest award.

With Robert­son again at the helm, Eden­hope won back-to-back flags in 1987, beat­ing Ky­by­bo­lite with Greg Thomas win­ning the goal-kick­ing award with 65. The club’s re­serves also won the flag, with Brian ‘Cob­ber’ Cas­sidy coach­ing the side to vic­tory, also against Ky­by­bo­lite.

In 1988, Brian Burke was the coach in charge of the team that de­feated Padth­away in the grand fi­nal, com­plet­ing the hat-trick of se­nior pre­mier­ships. Cas­sidy was also the league’s best and fairest and the club’s un­der-14s won a flag un­der coach Alan O’bryan.

Some of the play­ers of the era in­cluded Thomas, Cas­sidy, John Burchell, David, Steven, Jim and Jeff Ryan, Bernie Mul­raney, War­ren and Steven Tucker and Micky Dubois.

The 1988 A Grade net­ball pre­miers in­cluded play­ers such as Julie Cas­sidy, Jo Loft, Lisa King, nee Campbell, and Jan­ice Vanzini. The net­ballers also went on to win in 1989 and fin­ish run­ner­sup in 1990.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.