Stand­out Sharks win big at pre­sen­ta­tion ceremony

The Weekly Advertiser Horsham - - Sport -

Hor­sham Swim­ming Club has cel­e­brated its stand­out swim­mers for the 2017-18 sea­son.

Club lead­ers pre­sented awards based on out­stand­ing re­sults in Wim­mera District and Swim­ming Vic­to­ria Cham­pi­onship meets.

In the fi­nal meet for the sea­son on March 5 the Sharks com­peted against them­selves at club cham­pi­onships. Swim­mers com­peted in ei­ther 50m or 100m events of each stroke, de­pend­ing on their age group. The blue rib­bon 100m freestyle event in 15 and under boys and girls age groups was hotly con­tested.

Hor­sham Ru­ral City Coun­cil spon­sored the event, which was open to the pub­lic.

For the sec­ond year run­ning, Dea­con Briggs took out the boys event, with Dy­lan Cole sec­ond and Tyler Bolton third. All three boys swim with Hor­sham Sharks. Ruby Hill of Bal­larat Gold Swim­ming Club won the girls event ahead of Mad­dix Hughes, Hor­sham, and Eloise Wills, Hor­sham.

Club cham­pi­ons were an­nounced at the pre­sen­ta­tion evening.

2017-18 awards

Age cham­pi­ons: 7-8 years, Henry Wals­gott; 9-10, Jorja Clode, Hugo Hop­per; 11-12, Eloise Wills, Ja­cob Ma­tuschka; 13-14, Mad­dix Hughes, Dea­con Briggs; 15-16 Mon­tanna Con­nelly, Dy­lan Cole; 17 and over, Madee Townsend; open girls, Mon­tanna Con­nelly, Dea­con Briggs.

Most im­proved swim­mer: Si­enna Wals­gott, Dy­lan Cole.

Best first-year swim­mer: Ella Re­ichelt, Joel Mc­clure.

Coaches awards: Lily Bolton, Ella Re­ichelt, Jonah Con­nelly, Dea­con Briggs

Thorn­ley Tro­phy: Awarded to the girl and boy who achieve the most im­prove­ment at time tri­als through­out the sea­son, Tully Nor­ton, Chase Briggs.

Mark Short Memo­rial Tro­phy: Awarded to the fastest 12-year-old boy in 100m breast­stroke at club cham­pi­onships, Ja­cob Ma­tuschka.

Kenny Per­pet­ual Tro­phy: Named after former club coach Jan Kenny and awarded to the swim­mer of the meet at Wim­mera cham­pi­onships, Dea­con Briggs. Dea­con com­peted in his age group 13-14 boys as well as the open age group, amass­ing 95 points. Dea­con also won the district meet ag­gre­gate award for the swim­mer who ac­cu­mu­lated the most club points across all the district meets for the sea­son.

Dal­gleish Per­pet­ual Shield: For the best per­for­mance by an in­di­vid­ual at Coun­try Cham­pi­onships, Eloise Wills. This award was do­nated by Kings­ley and Mary Dal­gleish.

Lyn Bul­lock Memo­rial Award: For the best club per­son, Des Bolton – for out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to the club and swim­mers through­out the sea­son.

Hor­sham cro­quet re­sults

three, G. Mc­cart­ney 2-18, E. Ni­cholls 1-11; Thurs­day, divi­sion one, N. Pope 2-22, I. Rees 2-20, divi­sion two, B. Lam­pard 2-21, V. Hood 1-20, divi­sion three, G. Mc­cart­ney 2-21, A. Wray 1-13.

• Peo­ple can send sports in­for­ma­tion to [email protected]­era­

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.