Wanneroo Times - - Front Page -

PERTH’S res­i­dents have a woe­ful record of vot­ing in lo­cal gov­ern­ment elec­tions and it’s well be­yond time that changed.

Quite frankly, if you can’t be both­ered check­ing a box on a bal­lot pa­per that has been de­liv­ered to your house and then tak­ing it to a mail­box, you have no right to com­plain about all of the things coun­cils do that af­fect your daily life.

At the lo­cal gov­ern­ment elec­tions in 2013 and 2015, just 21.6 per cent and 20.5 per cent voted in the City of Wan­neroo coun­cil elec­tion. Across metropoli­tan Perth, the av­er­age was an ap­palling 27.5 per cent.

Do you not care about the im­post of rates on your hip pocket dur­ing tough eco­nomic times?

Are you un­con­cerned about high-rise build­ings pop­ping up in sur­round­ing streets?

Con­cerned your street has be­come a race­way for young hoons? Did you vote?

Postal votes will ar­rive in your let­ter­box from Septem­ber 27 if there is a con­test in your area.

We im­plore you to fill it in and take it straight to the mail­box. It is your duty and re­spon­si­bil­ity.

ALL six City of Wan­neroo coun­cil­lors whose terms end next month have renom­i­nated for the Oc­to­ber elec­tions, as have sev­eral for­mer coun­cil­lors.

There are 14 can­di­dates for the three North Coast ward seats, with two cur­rently held by Crs Linda Aitken and Gly­nis Parker.

The third seat has been va­cant since Sabine Win­ton won the Wan­neroo seat at the March state elec­tion and her pre­de­ces­sor, Paul Miles, is one of nine can­di­dates for the two Cen­tral ward po­si­tions.

In that ward, in­cum­bent Crs Dot New­ton and Dianne Guise are both hop­ing to re­tain their seats, as are Hugh Nguyen and Domenic Zappa in the South ward.

For­mer elected mem­bers Stu­art Macken­zie and Nguyet-Anh Truong are also con­test­ing the two South ward po­si­tions.

Other North Coast ward can­di­dates in­clude for­mer coun­cil­lors Rudi St­ef­fans and Laura Gray, plus Eby Mathew, Neil Rigby, Chris Howard, Lewis Flood, Sonet Coet­zee, John Ware, Ryan Eaton, June Kelly, He­len Berry and Max Hoy.

The Cen­tral ward choices also in­cludes Aaron Saw­madal, Vic Ether­ing­ton, An­drew Bail­lie, Monique Gen­ovese, Michael Howard and John Agnew.

The re­main­ing can­di­dates for the South ward are Adam Black­heart, Alan Davies, Ste­fan Claite and Philip Couper.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.