Warragul & Drouin Gazette - - DISTRICT GOLF -

The week just gone had ab­so­lutely ev­ery­thing weath­er­wise, from sun­shine to hail to a good 75mm of rain to fin­ish with.

This week’s ma­jor events were the medal­ist of medal­ists and the se­cond round of the 2018 club cham­pi­onships which was played by a field of 103, both on Sat­ur­day.

Just the six com­peti­tors from the 12 months win­ners of the monthly medals were avail­able for play and it was Dave Lawler tak­ing out the best of the best event with a fine score of net 68 play­ing off his hand­i­cap of 13. He was the two shots in front of Rick Fal­cone with a fur­ther three shots back to Bob Gough in third place.

It was mov­ing day for the se­cond round of the club cham­pi­onships with all play­ers try­ing to work their way into the fi­nal eight po­si­tions of each grade to be part of next week’s seeded draw.

The best score in for the day was Kris Fowler with a fine 65 net play­ing off his mark of 11, one shot to the bet­ter of the ever­green Terry Gar­ratt who ac­tu­ally leads the way for the club cham­pion ti­tle.

Gar­ratt leads this field by the shot to a back in form Steve Toner with a fur­ther shot back to Gus McKil­lop who is chas­ing is sev­enth club crown, hop­ing to equal the feat pre­vi­ously achieved by Leon Cook.

Harry Huyskens won the daily B grade event with a win­ning score of net 68, the two shots bet­ter than John Pear­son in se­cond place.

Nick Lock­wood took out the C grade event with a score of net 70 on a count back from David Leach with a fur­ther shot back to Nigel Goldswor­thy in third place.

A score of 71 was needed to win a ball down the line.

Gar­ratt com­pleted a good day of golf by scor­ing the two near­est the pins on the eighth and 14th holes.

A field of just the 30 play­ers came out for a round on Thurs­day with Dar­ren Stan­ton win­ning the A grade event with a score of 36 points. It was the two shots bet­ter than Mick Ney­lan who claimed the run­ners up prize on a count back from Ron Field­ing.

John O’Brien won the B grade event with a score of 37 points, two points clear of Doug Ea­stick in se­cond place.

A fi­nal score of 33 points was re­quired to win a ball down the line.

All roads lead to next week’s fi­nal round of the club ti­tles with seeded draws to take place per the fol­low­ing:

A grade:10.54am: Terry Gar­ratt (151) Steve Toner (152) Gus McKil­lop (152) Peter McNeish (156).

B grade: 10.36am: Dave Lawler (164) Rick Fal­cone (166) Marty Atkins (166) Robert Gough (167); 10.45am: Grant McLure (160) Trevor Franklin (161) Harry Matthews (163) Peter Glass­cock (163).

C grade: 10.18am: Peter Smith (184) Peter Mar­quis (185) Rex Turner (185) Don Smith (188); 10.27am: Gary Kelly (175) John San­der­son (180) Peter Bog­art (181) Peter King (182).

D grade: 10.09am: Bar­rie Cousin (195) Ge­orge Gray (208) Pat McDon­agh (196) Nigel Goldswor­thy(200). Re­sults: Mon­day, sin­gle sta­ble­ford (field of 24): 1st Peter Lazarus (27) 39; DTL: Pat O’Brien 38, John O’Brien 36; Best front nine: Dar­ren Stan­ton 22; Best back nine: Kris Fowler 19.

Tues­day, women’s stroke: 1st Jill Gay (25) 69; DTL: Deb Huyskens 70; NTP: 4th Jill Gay, 9th Deb Huyskens, 16th Heather Payne; Birdies: 6th and 9th Deb Huyskens; Gob­bler: 6th Derb Huyskens.

Thurs­day, sin­gle sta­ble­ford (field of 30): A grade: 1st Dar­ren Stan­ton (13) 36, 2nd Mick Ney­lan (12) 34cb, 3rd Ron Field­ing (14) 34; B grade: 1st John O’Brien (22) 37, 2nd Doug Ea­stick (24) 35, 3rd Trevor Burnie (22) 34; DTL: John Carvill 34, Peter John­son 34, John Scale 33; NTP: 4th Russ Loughridge, 8th Ian Archer, 9th Paul Robert­son, 11th Ash Gra­ham, 14th Dar­ren Stan­ton, 16th Mick Ney­lan.

Thurs­day, twi­light sta­ble­ford (field of 26): 1st Ge­off Turner (13) 20; Vis­i­tor:Greg Pol­son (16) 21; DTL: Cameron Reid, Chris Bog­art; NTP: 8th Ke­van McMil­lan 9th Cameron Reid.

Sat­ur­day, se­cond round cham­pi­onships (field of 103): Agrade: 1st Kris Fowler (11) 65, 2nd Terry Gar­ratt (10) 66, 3rd Steve Toner (11) 68cb; B grade: 1st Harry Huyskens (20) 68, 2nd John Pear­son (18) 70, 3rd John San­der­son (20) 71; C grade: 1st Nick Lock­wood (24) 70cb, 2nd David Leach (22) 70, 3rd Nigel Goldswor­thy (21) 71; DTL: Dave Lawler 68, Travis Jack 69, Mick Ney­lan 69, Ron Field­ing 69, Rick Fal­cone 70, Russ Loughridge 70, Grant McLure 70, Harry Matthews 71, Joe Tonso 71, Grant McKay 71; NTP: 4th Ron Field­ing, 8th Terry Gar­ratt, 9th Dar­ren Stan­ton, 11th Bob Gough, 14th Terry Gar­ratt, 16th Peter King; NTP 2nd shot: A grade: Rick Fal­cone; B grade: Peter Bog­art.

Sat­ur­day, medal of medal­ists (field of 6): 1st Dave Lawler 68, 2nd Rick Fal­cone, 3rd Bob Gough 73, 4th Gus McKil­lop 75, 5th Chris Wil­liams 78, 6th Stephen Bird 86.

Sat­ur­day, women’s stroke: 1st Leesa Matthews (16) 74; DTL:Heather Mif­sud 75cb; NTP: 4th Amanda McLure, 14th Heather Payne, 16th Karli Van­der Horst; Birdies: 14th and 18th Amanda McLure.

Sun­day, sin­gle sta­ble­ford (field of 12): 1st Bernie Flynn (21) 42, 2nd Matt Var Der Horst (11) 41, 3rd Damien Han­mond (11) 39; DTL: Dar­ren Rae 37cb; NTP: 4th and 8th R ob Coates, 14th and 16th Brett Wright.


Tues­day last was the Sum­mer com­pe­ti­tion.

The re­sults are held over un­til Fe­bru­ary when the win­ners over seven rounds will be an­nounced. As such there will be no re­sults in the Gazette over the next seven weeks.

The Christ­mas break-up will be held on Tues­day De­cem­ber 4. A meal will fol­low a fun nine-holes of golf. Con­tact Leanne or Sue if you haven’t put your name down yet. Next is the char­ity day on De­cem­ber 7. The women are play­ing 4BBBB sta­ble­ford and the men are play­ing sta­ble­ford. It is an 8.30am start for a shot­gun tee off at 9am.

If you would like to join in con­tact Sue or Me­gan. Vis­i­tors can con­tact the Pro Shop.


first week of the

The Drouin se­niors man­aged to beat the rain for their nine-hole event on Thurs­day.

It was a joint win in the women’s di­vi­sion with Au­drey Farthing and Jan Stone each scor­ing 18 points.

The run­ner up was Marg Mur­ray with 14 points, fol­lowed by Lorna Hoskins and Catri­ona Fer­gu­son with 13 points.

In the men’s di­vi­sion the win­ner was Richard Snare with 22 points.

The run­ner up was Gra­ham Dor­ling with 19 points, fol­lowed by Ian Hem­phill, Gil­bert Davis and Max Luck with 18 points. over Trar­al­gon’s 15.69. Re­sults: Tues­day, par (32 play­ers): 1st Max Tay­lor +4, 2nd Bill Tay­lor +3cb; DTL: John Bay­ley +3, Nola Fordham, Graeme Har­ris, Hank Fid­de­laers, Graeme Grant, Franc Kiss +2; NTP: Nola Fordham; Brad­man’s: Reg Bars­dell.

Thurs­day, sta­ble­ford Trafal­gar v Trar­al­gon Martin Cle­ments Chal­lenge (67 play­ers): Women’s: 1st Ol­wyn Bal­four 23, 2nd Aileen McNair 20; DTL: Sil­vija Brown 20, Jackie Croyle, Bev Keily 19cb, Judy El­der (Trar­al­gon) 16; NTP: Ch­eryl Dep­peler; Brad­man’s: Nola Fordham; Men’s: 1st Lau­rie Snow­ball 23cb, 2nd Char­lie Street 23; DTL: Frank Fitz­patrick (Trar­al­gon) 22, Greg Ross (Trar­al­gon), Chris Labour, Terry Bullen (Trar­al­gon) 21, Len Rawlings (Trar­al­gon) 20, Ge­off Pick­burn, Russ Bal­four, Kevin Fisher, Bill Tay­lor 19; NTP: Den­nis Scam­bler; Brad­man’s: Brian Richie (Trar­al­gon).


Re­sults: Wed­nes­day, third round cham­pi­onships: A grade: 1st Ch­eryl Dep­peler (21) 63 nett, 2nd Di Larsen (20) 68; B grade: 1st Karen Swingler (25) 73, 2nd Sue Bal­four (29) 74; DTL: Bev Keily 70, Di Moody 70, Sam Cal­dow 72, Donna Mel­lon 73; NTP: 5th Nola Fordham, 15th Di Moody. Cham­pi­onship win­ners: A grade: Gross: June Tick­ell 244; Nett: Di Moody 210; B grade: Gross: Bev Keily 290; Nett: Bev Keily 221; C grade: Gross: Nola Fordham 311; Nett: Beth Lans­down 213; Vet­er­ans: Beth Lans­down 138.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.