New shoes for James af­ter com­pe­ti­tion win

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

PROSER­PINE GOLF: The weather closed in on Thurs­day af­ter­noon, re­sult­ing in Satur­day’s play be­ing can­celled due to flood­ing on the course.

The Thurs­day men’s com­pe­ti­tion was played with 33 play­ers turn­ing up to play for Al­bert Pini’s an­nual tro­phy in the nine holes event.

The win­ner was James Dev­ery with nett 32.

He re­ceived a pair of golf shoes, com­pli­ments of Al­bert.

Un­lucky place get­ters were Jim Grace and John Roser, both with 34 nett.

The 18-hole win­ner was Lew Tuck with nett 66, from run­ner up James Dev­ery on 68.

In the short run­down were Paul Joice and Nic Langevad on 70, Michael Cragg, Mat Bower, Peter Fox and John Roser on 71, and Wayne Temby on 72.

Pin shots went to Brian Smith on two, Trevor Paroz, nine, John Grosskreutz 13 and Barry Mor­timer on 16.

The Wed­nes­day ladies’ monthly medal player on the fifth was won by Wendy Bradley on a count­back from Heather Lu­vis both with nett 73.

In the run down were Ti­ina Rand­mae, Tina Baden­horst and Tessa Aitken.

The pin shots went to Pauline Red­path and Heather Lu­vis, who were both equal dis­tance from the flag on nine.

Weather per­mit­ting, this Satur­day will be Tur­key Day. All play­ers and non-mem­bers are wel­come to play in the thee-ball am­brose event, sched­uled for a 10am shot­gun start.

Whit­sun­day golfers and their part­ners closed out the com­pe­ti­tion year with the an­nual pre­sen­ta­tion and Christ­mas party last Satur­day evening, with the wet weather cer­tainly not de­ter­ring the de­ter­mined party go­ers.

Cham­pi­onships win­ners were re­warded with their tro­phies, spon­sors and sup­port­ers shown the mem­bers’ ap­pre­ci­a­tion and the year was rounded off on the dance floor.

Medal of Medal win­ners 2018:

A-grade: An­thony Gwal­ter B-grade: Scotty Wardroper

Ladies: Vicki Tuck Most con­sis­tent player 2018: Anna Win­ter­bourn

Mark Ni­chol Memo­rial Tro­phy 2018: Two-ball am­brose: 22/4/18

Win­ners: Dean Barnard and An­thony Gwal­ter

Run­ners-Up: Don Cameron and Lew Tuck

Four­ball best ball stable­ford cham­pi­onship:

Win­ners: Mark McDougall and Paul Ni­col

Run­ners-up: Ernie Hol­stein and Paul Ni­col

Four­somes cham­pi­onship 2018:

Win­ners: Joanne Moyni­han and Dean Kercher

Run­ners-up: Linda and Scotty Wardroper

Stable­ford cham­pi­onship 2018:

Win­ners Run­ners-up

A-grade: Ge­off Har­ri­son, Scotty Wardroper

B-grade: Mick Ca­ton, Reg Kercher

Ladies: Sally Lit­tle, Paula McQuat

Club cham­pi­onships 2018: The Kerry Hall Memo­rial Tro­phy Played 28/10 and 18/11

Over­all club cham­pi­ons Men: Ross Richards, Ladies: Ti­ina Rand­mae

Grade: Gross win­ners, nett Win­ners :

A-grade: Ross Richards, Danny York

B-grade: Mick Ca­ton, Bren­don Me­harry

Ladies: Ti­ina Rand­mae, Vicki Tuck.


COM­PE­TI­TION: Al­bert Pini staged his an­nual tro­phy event at Proser­pine last week.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.